Questions for myself.

An interview with myself on a snow day.

Question: Egypt?

Answer: I’m very concerned. Egypt isn’t Tunisia. It’s strategic importance to the U.S. and Israel is huge. They will not let it slip away without a fight.  The world has heard largely from the urban middle class and students. I fear for the next few days and weeks.

Question: Oscars?

Answer: I’ve really grown to dislike The King’s Speech more and more each day since seeing it. By Oscar night, I will hate it. I have gone the opposite direction with True Grit. As time has gone by, I appreciate it more and more. Naturally, The King’s Speech will sweep everything including best caterer and best foley.

Question: Superbowl?

Answer: Steelers. But I have squares and no horse in the race. So only the score means anything to me. I’ll watch.

Question: Chicago mayor’s race?

Answer: I do have a horse in this race and that horse, Miguel Del Valle, is a major underdog. I love underdogs! And I do have this gut feeling that he can make the run-off. But never trust gut feelings. Votes are better than feelings.

4 thoughts on “Questions for myself.

  1. Ah, Ramon. An interesting question. After all, winners of elections that I have worked for and supported have often disappointed. Obama being only the latest example. But then there was Harold Washington, who even when he became a favorite, became Mayor, my respect and regard for him only grew. So it is possible for me to like a favorite. Not often. But sometimes. And as far as Miguel is concerned, I’m willing to take the risk.

Leave a comment