The in box. One NEA RA delegate who spoke against SOS explains.

 I am one of the Florida delegates who spoke against NBI 39. I think that there have been a number of misconceptions associated with the discussion. I apologize if I was too poor of a speaker to more clearly state the issue. 

The issue is that posting on Facebook is all too easy. A Facebook location for SOS that is a stand-alone isn’t the NEA. There is a heck of a lot of power in NEA (power to do good and power to harm).

I was sailing along enjoying my first RA and enjoying meeting folks from Delaware (my assigned contact), California, Mississippi and Texas. One of my fellow delegates from Palm Beach alerted me to the potential trouble of  this NBI. I was curious so I jumped on my Facebook, clicked on SOS Florida (an awesome and helpful group that made me aware of the recent DC meeting that I attended) and was startled to see a posting inviting teachers to attend a “Happy Hour” in Innisbrook, Fl.  It was a recruiting event for Students First (Michelle Rhee’s group). Horrors!

I have since learned that using others names (more on this shortly) is unwise. I will say that I met one of the administrators of SOS FL at the March and she was a delightful and dedicated education advocate. I want to be certain that she not hear this as criticism. It isn’t her fault that this posting occurred. In fact, that is my whole point! She nor I nor anyone can watch often enough to prevent them. To have a public declaration of NEA’s support can and I believe would mislead the public when the inevitable postings of our bond enemies did occur.

Now for the humble pie portion of this all too long posting. I stated above that I learned a lesson about using others names. I was informed that Diane Ravitch had backed away from SOS. I was wrong as her posting on Twitter stated clearly that she had not. My apologies to all, but especially to the much esteemed Ms. Ravitch. Diane, I am sorry if I caused you any trouble because I very much admire your work for public education. I certainly should have researched in greater depth before invoking your name. In the very ungrammatical but sincere form, “My Bad!”.

I do want to be clear that the central issue was NEA attaching its name to a media form that isn’t under its direct control. I feel fairly certain that  all of the SOS folks are as deeply concerned about public education as am I. I apologize to anyone who felt that my speech was in any way a rebuke. I was solely focused on preventing what I felt was a risky endeavor. My Facebook location is Brevard Teachers, my  url is www.BFTteach.org and on Twitter @BFTpres .

Note. This delegate was only one of several Florida delegates who went to the microphone. We have yet to hear from the others. Clearly, in spite of  some who claim to be progressive, but are anti-union voices, this was not part of a plan by NEA leadership.

Leave a comment