Skip to content

The in box. Park Ridge board member Pat Fioretto takes exception to my post.

February 27, 2013

Good afternoon, Fred.

I always have enjoyed reading your posts. I thought , overall, you have been fair with your recitation of facts. Indeed, on most issues I agree with you. However, I think you missed some important facts on this one. You really should talk to the groups who have been impacted by the lowlife BOE. Or, perhaps you can review the video which should be posted on the District’s website shortly. I also would be willing to talk to you or anyone else who might care enough to learn the facts. Most of the individuals who stood in solidarity and spoke (eloquently) to the Board last night, chose to leave before the BOE addressed the matter. You know how to get in touch with me if you wish. I normally do not post comments on blogs, I prefer talking to people–like you and I have done in the past. However, since I am now being accused of being one of those “scumbags,” as referred to by one of your friends, I felt compelled to offer another version of the facts. The PRTAA and the BOE have not even had a mediation session with the FMCS Mediator. Our first session is set for Friday, March 8, 2013. Presumably, you do not know what has been exchanged during the bargaining sessions–nor is it any of your business, at this point. It would be inappropriate for the BOE (or the PRTAA) to discuss the specific terms of any negotiation sessions at this point. You yourself were a lead negotiator and must recognize the importance of these sessions. As to what happened when the BOE did address the two employee groups last night, rather than offer my version of the facts, please review the video for yourself.

Oh, and by the way, when the parties involved in the PREA negotiations finally arrived at a new CBA, the PREA membership overwhelmingly ratified the 4-year Agreement. They must have thought it was “fair.” The next time you speak with some of your old colleagues from the PREA negotiating team (most of whom I would assume would not refer to the Board negotiators as “scrooges”), please confirm with them that part of the reason the negotiations went so long this time, in part, had to do with conflicts in schedules. I said it before and I will say it again–collective bargaining works, it is not perfect, but it works. You forgot to inform the readers of your blog that when the BOE adopted the CBA in front of another standing-room only audience, the room erupted with applause and approval by the PREA membership. How quickly we seem to forget–collective bargaining has worked for the PREA and for the BOE.

As you know, I will soon be off the BOE in May of this year. My 4-year term will expire. I would like to think that I have contributed something positive to the District and community in which I live and have raised my family–despite the misinformation currently being circulated. If not, I am sure there will be a new set of “scrooges” waiting to take my place.

All the best,

Pat Fioretto

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,065 other followers

