Skip to content

I won’t be going to this year’s IEA Representative Assembly.

December 13, 2013

When I decided to run as a retired delegate to the Representative Assembly of the IEA it was partly out of frustration with the lack of substance and turnout for these elections.

I decided to run clearly in opposition to the current practices of the IEA leadership.

I presented myself as standing in opposition to corporate school reform efforts.

And I presented myself as an unapologetic activist for retiree pensions.

The lEA wouldn’t let me call myself a activist on my election bio. They changed it to advocate.

In addition, over the past year I have been an advocate – even an activist – for ways to increase the turnout for these elections.

I lost on both fronts.

The turnout was typically low. And I was not elected delegate.

The results:

Janet Kilgus and Jim Duffy are delegates by virtue of the positions as Retired Chair and Co-Chair.

Bob Haisman 1643

Ken Swanson 1256

Jack Tucker 1230

Ed Rosenthal 1218

Barb Gilhaus 1009

David Bishop 987

Bob Kaplan 935

Terry Waldron 855

Linda Stolt 845

Mae Smith 843

Pearl Mack 823

Sara Kaufman 798

Char Healey 792

Dottie Beeler 773

Jane Nolan 757

Melody Sexton 724

Wesley Heyduck 704

Chuck Weishaupt 688

Those running but did not make the cut:

Marge Houghland 658

Barbara Thielemann 643

Brain Mooberry 621

Fred Klonsky 601

Tim Brinker 567

Rita Stone 561

Gayla Dial 558

JoAnn Kenner 557

Linda Walcher 545

Kathy Ryan 421

Lou Ann Jacobs 369

Sandy Drafall 354

Janet Lilly 320

Jaron Rourke-Pierscionek 315

Linda Hiatt-Hecox 305

Rich Crandall 287

 

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Gatsby permalink
    December 13, 2013 8:00 pm

    Kudos Fred for your efforts for us all. Please continue the fight. Your voice is needed.

    • Fred Klonsky permalink*
      December 13, 2013 8:02 pm

      Count on it.

  2. December 13, 2013 8:25 pm

    You have lived to run another day.
    I will again vote for you on that day.

  3. Mary Sheils permalink
    December 13, 2013 8:33 pm

    Well, not only did I vote for you….I also joined your blog and am enjoying all of your posts. It was mainly because of the information that you provided that Imgot more involved in the recent pension rallies. I saw you at the pension rally at M. Mussman’s office in Schaumburg. I truly feel that you are an “advocate” for retirees. I am sorry that you didn’t make the cut. Please continue what you are doing…..I will be “watching”…LOL

    • Fred Klonsky permalink*
      December 13, 2013 8:37 pm

      Glad you’re a reader and co-advocate/activist.

  4. Mary Katherine permalink
    December 13, 2013 8:39 pm

    Thank you for all you do for retired teachers. I am IFT so I couldn’t vote for you, but was hoping you would get in.

    • Fred Klonsky permalink*
      December 13, 2013 9:02 pm

      Thanks. I think.

  5. Elma permalink
    December 13, 2013 9:20 pm

    I can’t help but wonder if the election was rigged. Was the same fuzzy math used in Springfield for the income tax hike that was supposed to get us out of debt and now save the state with pension “reform” used? How is it that with your following that some people with no exposure beat you? Did the higher-ups fear you’d usurp their influence? I smell a rat. You didn’t play ball with IEA like the politicians did for so many years. It’s a loss for IEA and IEA-R. You’ve done more with your blog than IEA and IEA-R combined has done for all us retirees. Fred, you didn’t lose, IEA-R did.

    • Fred Klonsky permalink*
      December 13, 2013 9:26 pm

      The election was what it was. What we need is more members of IEA Retired who want change. In six months we created an active large membership group. And we’re not going anywhere.

  6. Mike permalink
    December 13, 2013 9:29 pm

    Thank you Fred for the best blog ever….

    I agree with your view on the 50/50 state supreme court decision thingy.

    I too am sceptical relative to State Supreme Court Allegiance to upholding the simply, unequivocally worded TRS contract law.

    The Illinois legislature obviously knows that the legal loop hole may be that 1% reduction–not sure why that would impact the entire contract–but that seems to be the only leftover unexplained concession.

    BTW, This pension reform trend is catching like a cold and like it or not Illinois is/was the test case..George Carlin is laughing. “They will take your pensions…”

    Who are they…?

    The NEA was ALWAYS a positive creative lobbyist nightmare for teachers….over charged, bureaucratic and absolutely out of touch– but had a nice expensive glossy magazine with just the right amount of real teacher propaganda for the grunts.

    Unless the NEA comes down hard soon over the Illinois TRS theft travesty using our dues towards legal resources… The NEA will become an impotent lame duck.

    Of course we ALL will miss that glossy thick expensive magazine that represents nothing.

  7. December 13, 2013 9:44 pm

    A West coast lurker, I have to say that this election result is very, very disappointing. Depressing, actually. You’re an inspiration, Fred, a loud and articulate canary in the pension coal mine. This theft won’t stop at Illinois. How retired teachers, and current ones too, can be so oblivious to what is coming their way bogles my mind. Kudos for your efforts.

  8. John Laesch permalink
    December 13, 2013 9:52 pm

    Fred, I am sorry to hear this. For some reason I thought you were a shoe-in. It amazes me that there are not enough people following what is going on to go pull for Klonsky. Wow! John Date: Sat, 14 Dec 2013 01:43:16 +0000 To: johnlaesch@live.com

  9. Bob Brill permalink
    December 14, 2013 1:50 am

    Ken Swanson?? Sheesh! Why does he want to continue to gum up the works?

  10. December 14, 2013 2:04 am

    Fred this is very disappointing. But has nothing to do with the merit of our issues and we will prevail! It would have been a bit easier with your voice in that position because you have that fire in your belly and it needs to be shared more. It appears that the NEA still is not ready to deal with the issues head on.

  11. December 14, 2013 5:43 am

    Fred

    Welcome to the club.You will never win unless
    there is some oversight during the election process.

  12. Roseanna permalink
    December 14, 2013 7:11 am

    I retired in June of 2012, but didn’t enroll in IRTA until this fall, actually August. I was one who didn’t get a ballot, but because of your blog knew enough to call IEA and let them know. The person I spoke with said I wasn’t on the ballot mailing list, and looked up my registration and said my membership started AFTER they had made up the list. I was surprised that newer members hadn’t been considered for a ballot that wasn’t getting mailed until October! Anyway, a ballot was sent out that morning and I’m proud to say I voted for you. I’m wondering how many others may have been in that same or similar situation and just didn’t make the follow up call. Keep up this wonderfully informative blog and continue to encourage others to be advocates/activists! You are needed!

    • December 14, 2013 11:11 am

      Roseanna, I am retired six years, my wife 11. We never got any ballots even though we are life time retired members. We get/got all the retired newsletters and other propaganda. When I emailed/called they said it was a mix up, the local people never notified them. BULLSHIT!!! Glen raises a very good question and I would add voter suppression to the mix and this is a serious matter. I know retired 6 & 11 yrs and just now we are looking to vote? If it were not for Fred and his voice and work the wife and I would still be in the land of the uninformed and uninvolved. I don’t even remember how I found Fred but I’m so fortunate that I did, and I let others of our group know of him and his work and everyone of them are happy that I did. They are more aware and they all voted for him. One said “I only voted for him so as not to give a vote to anyone else.” Fred re-awakened that sixties activist in me and helped bring him back.

      • Roseanna permalink
        December 14, 2013 1:40 pm

        I reread my posting and saw that I only said I enrolled in IRTA. I enrolled in both IRTA and IEA-retired. I am in total agreement with you – I also don’t remember how I happened upon Fred’s blog, but what a treasure he is for all of us!

  13. December 14, 2013 8:48 am

    Voter Fraud?

    • Fred Klonsky permalink*
      December 14, 2013 8:52 am

      Who knows? More important is that there is leadership fraud.

  14. Rich Sasso permalink
    December 14, 2013 11:42 am

    Sorry to hear that, Fred. It will be our loss at the event.

    • Fred Klonsky permalink*
      December 14, 2013 12:22 pm

      Thanks, Richard. I’m sorry too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,062 other followers

