Arne’s proof. Marcy’s proof.

SDC13137

This morning NPR reports, “Under the new guidelines, Duncan says he’ll require proof that these (Special Needs) kids aren’t just being served but are actually making academic progress.”

During the 2011-2012 school year – my final year of teaching – I was on evaluation. In our district tenured teachers were formally evaluated by the principal every two years.

The process would usually involve several meetings and a classroom observation.

For many years my school had a large number of Special Needs students – particularly students with autism – and we struggled to successfully apply best practices, including inclusive classroom settings for every student.

It was always my belief that even those students who were identified on the far end of the autism spectrum should be included with typical students in the art room. With the help and support of great paraprofessionals, that is what we did.

The idea of being evaluated by the principal in the final year of my teaching seemed silly. It was a fluke of the calendar.

But as union president I had witnessed awful principals give poor evaluations to retiring veteran teachers just so they could claim they were not giving every teacher a high rating. And I had also seen the devastated look on many of these teachers’ faces who took this stuff seriously, believing that after a life-time of teaching, they were now considered less than adequate.

I, on the other hand, was more skeptical of the process. So when Marcy, my principal, asked me to fill out a sheet on what my professional goals for the year were, I told her that I had none. “I’m a good teacher. I will be a good teacher this year. I am retiring at the end of this year.” 

She asked me to tell her what my goal for the lesson was that she was going to observe.

I told her, “Why don’t we meet afterwards, and you see if you can tell me what my goal was?”

At the appointed time, Marcy walked into my room with pen and a legal-sized note pad and sat on a stool in the corner.

It was a class of fifth graders and we were exploring perspective. I was demonstrating the tricks of using one-point perspective to create the illusion of depth on a two-dimensional surface.

This class – like most of my classes – had a student with autism. In this case Jimmy was on the extreme end of the autism spectrum. He was not verbal and would often appear inattentive, shaking his hands or staring out the window. But we – the paraprofessional and I – knew that Jimmy was hearing me, understood at some level and with problematic motor skills, Jimmy would attempt to do the work. Or some work.

Marcy missed all that.

Worse, Marcy was unaware that she was missing it.

In her post-observation write-up she said that Jimmy was not engaged.

I was appalled. I refused to sign the write-up and wrote a response which I insisted be placed in my personnel file.

“You cannot tell whether Jimmy is engaged or not engaged simply by a one-time observation,” I wrote. “You clearly have very little knowledge of autism, although you were a special education administrator for many years.”

I also pointed out that whether a child has autism or is a typical student, engagement is not binary. A student is not in or out. There are degrees of engagement with a project. This is no less true for Special Needs students.

The Obama administration said Tuesday that the vast majority of the 6.5 million students with disabilities in U.S. schools today are not receiving a quality education, and that it will hold states accountable for demonstrating that those students are making progress.

A major shift in Special Needs accountability.

It must be demonstrated that the students are making progress.

One can only shudder at what Arne has in mind.

5 thoughts on “Arne’s proof. Marcy’s proof.

  1. Fred,
    I’m a retired teacher like you. I voted for Obama and thought there would be many positive changes to come with our new President. That thought quickly changed when I heard that Obama had decided to appoint Arne Duncan as the head of our nation’s schools.

  2. Fred, we all know that Arne has no mind. If he did, he would know enough to know that he is not, in absolutely any circumstance, qualified for his job. Of course, being a know-nothing about education in general, he knows less than nothing about special education. The other part that he is missing is, of course, a heart. He simply doesn’t have one–he cares not one iota for American children, their parents and their teachers. Our future–our precious children, upon whom America will eventually depend–is being systematically destroyed by those who look upon our kids with eyes blinded by dollar $ign$, and only that.
    Arne Duncan is the Benedict Arnold of our time, but he has committed a treason far beyond that of Arnold. And so I say, parents of America, in your suburbs, towns, cities and state-by-state, start your lawsuits. It was parents who brought about the creation of Public Law 94-142 (Special Education Law), and it is parents who will stop Duncan and his minions. This is the civil rights issue of our time.

    (And, Fred, your “Marcy” story is all-too-common: “You clearly have very little knowledge of autism, although you were a special education administrator for many years.” Ha! As a retired sped. teacher, my experience had pretty much always been that I had wonderful & understanding principals (wouldn’t you speducators like to hear THIS in these dark days of ed.–Principal: I don’t have much experience w/sped. students–you {teacher!} are the expert, so I trust your judgement {!}), but pretty arrogant, egotistical sped. directors/administrators/case managers who often came in having had only ONE special ed. certification/endorsement, & knowing diddly-squat, but they’d be sure to tell YOU, the teacher, what for. Even today (or especially today)–that’s why every single sped. teacher must take courses in school law & special ed. law. I took them the summer after my first year of teaching. Worked wonders when advocating for your kids. In fact, many sped. admins. today buy what Arne & his ilk say–just look at the fight we just had about dropping class size/caseload restrictions {and we won…for now}).

  3. I started my ed career when PL94-142 was enacted. I made a point of attending all the seminars and workshops I could. This helped me not only to better serve the SPED students/parents but also non-SPED. You can’t go into education and not keep constantly learning and updating yourself.

Leave a comment