Roberta Rebb. Rest in Peace.

I received word today that Roberta Rebb, a long-time progressive activist, passed away on Sunday, December 20th.

Roberta had been battling cancer for the past few years.

I hadn’t ever met Roberta face to face. When I started publishing my blog I began receiving Roberta’s emails.

They were always passionate. Some were just to me and others were sent to her extensive email contact list in which I was lucky to be included.

Even though she was ill, she was an organizer.

When I retired in June of 2012, Roberta sent me an email with the subject line: Keeping fighting! I’m going to.

Often there would be an attachment about some issue that had raised Roberta’s ire.

Other times I would be just one name on an email list.

This isn’t just an on-going battle; it’s a war being waged against our rights by corporations in Illinois.  I cannot emphasize how imperative it is for you to visit and/or contact your legislators.  TRS will not be insolvent if the state makes its payments.  The state will be able to make payments if it stops providing tax breaks for large corporations and adopts tax practices that provide for the corporations and the wealthy to pay their fair share of the tax burden which should be shared by all but is currently being funded mostly by the middle class.   Please act and contact your legislators.

The last communication I received from Roberta was a month ago.

I can’t find any accomplishments of note in Hillary’s record of office holding. She accomplished nothing as a Senator and nothing as secretary of state.  I’m also highly skeptical of her extensive travel particularly with the donations from foreign countries to the Clinton Foundation.  She has not shown herself to be trustworthy either.

Her “cover my tracks” approach to communication is a complete turn off.

A fighter until the end.

Sunday, December 27th from 4-9p.m. – Lack & Sons Funeral Home ( 9236 S. Roberts Road, Hickory Hills)

Funeral – Monday, December 28th – Begins at Lack & Sons at 9:15a.m. proceeding to St. Patricia’s Church for 10:00 Mass. 

Obituary will be in Thursday’s Tribune. 

5 thoughts on “Roberta Rebb. Rest in Peace.

  1. On Madigan and Rauner:
    “These monsters are egomaniacal bloodsuckers who feed off the consequences of the laws and decisions they implement on others. We need to continue to fight and not allow such evil to thrive” –Roberta Rebb.

  2. I am re-reading dozens of emails that Roberta sent to me. I hope to have a few of them published on my blog by tomorrow. They go back to 2011. Roberta was a beautiful and remarkable woman. She will be missed by many people.

  3. Thank you for the information, Fred. I am shocked & saddened.
    I was introduced to Roberta by a mutual friend (via their south suburban IRTA), & we shared many views & e-mails–she’d always forward many informational e-mails & sign petitions, & she’d send me many. We were e-mail friends for the past 3 years or so–unfortunately, we never met–she could never come to events such as the ALEC protest or Springfield rallies, but she unfailingly spread the word.
    She is greatly missed.

  4. One of my favorite notes from Roberta:
    Re: Klonsky and Brown v. Haisman

    Boys,

    Play nice, please, fight nice please. Let’s respect differences but continue our fight for pension benefits. You are all my heroes for your tireless, relentless effort of advocacy on our behalf. I am so grateful for all of energy, knowledge, and experience, and feel blessed to know you and be able to do what little I can these days to lobby in support.

    Your fan,
    Roberta
    June 18, 2013

Leave a Reply

