The Sun-Times calls us ugly. We are so beautiful.

IMG_2390

The Sun-Times’ Mark Brown says we’re ugly. We are so beautiful.

I suppose it is pointless to argue with someone like Mark Brown of the Sun-Times.

There was a lot of negative energy being expended inside and outside the UIC Pavilion.

To be clear, I’m glad people came out to protest Trump. I was hoping for it.

But as I watched an elderly man with a walker trying in vain to return to his car because idiots were running wild through the parking garage where many of Trump’s fans parked their cars, I was ashamed.

“This is what free speech looks like!” shouted a leader of the protesters on his megaphone while the old man asked the police if it was safe yet to get to his car.

I hope this isn’t what free speech looks like.

Look, Donald Trump has no business being president, and I think his supporters are misguided at best.

But they weren’t the ugly ones on this night.

The media talking points are so lock step that I become conspiratorial. Who decides this?

Anne and I were there last night. Was Mark Brown? Or did he do the typical Chicago reporting thing of watching it all on TV?

Ugly? What is uglier than the Trump campaign?

Who is Mark Brown to call us ugly?

He wanted a protest. But  if a few people weren’t polite or well behaved by his standards then he washes his hands of the whole thing.

Last night was a non-violent protest.

I thought the protest of Donald Trump was as beautiful as the people who marched.

And they were so beautiful.

 

5 thoughts on “The Sun-Times calls us ugly. We are so beautiful.

  1. I went to a Democratic convention in the fifties (I think)here in Chicago and there was a protest and chanting “Jim Crow gotta go” louder and louder. with pushing and huge crowds. I was a young woman alone, who had managed to get a single ticket as an observer. I still remember the massive crowds with the continual chanting. Crowds can get overly excited, but that’s a democracy in action. Those chanters deserved to be heard and so do those opposing a presidential candidate. Mary Richie

  2. I am a member of MoveOn and got a request to attend. I was afraid…chickened out. I’m proud of the people who did show up. Trump is an egotistical, racist bully and is pulling hatred out from the lowest levels of humanity. More protests by large numbers of people should keep him from speaking. How sad that our ‘democracy’ has sunk this low.

    My thanks goes to the college students who organized the protest. It worked beautifully!!

  3. “Look, Donald Trump has no business being president, and I think his supporters are misguided at best.
    But they weren’t the ugly ones on this night.” (M. Brown)

    Huh??? Trump supporters… misguided at best? What about at worst? Pumped up on racism, xenophobia, misogyny, and God knows what other evils!!! …But they weren’t the ugly ones on this night??? What’s Brown smoking these days?

Leave a Reply

