“So far, my 5 and six year old kinder-kids have taken these summative evals this year.”

12932688_10101534558264931_7395042772170648981_n
Elizabeth Brown on Friday.

-By Elizabeth Brown who is a CPS kindergarten teacher.

Non-educators also do not understand the difference between formative and summative assessment. Spending so much time on summative testing like PARCC and NWEA pulls students away from the getting genuine anecdotal feedback they need to self assess and set personal goals.

 So far my 5 & 6-year old kinder-kids have taken these summative evals this year:

 REACH Math

 REACH Reading
 ACCESS for English Language
Learners 2X

NWEA MPG Math 2X

BAS Reading 2X

I also give my kids a teacher designed age-appropriate 1:1 test that I give them for reporting to parents and goal setting every five weeks.

Then come the day to day formative assessments that i use daily to inform instruction.

Don’t forget they were in utero five years ago.

3 thoughts on ““So far, my 5 and six year old kinder-kids have taken these summative evals this year.”

  1. Since they are only 5, they should get credit for eating boogers and paste. These tests are not developmentally appropriate, and only serve to enrich their creators and education reformers who want to be able to fire, based on test scores, veteran teachers, so they can hire at the bottom of the pay scale, and pocket the difference. I’m glad I’m not a kid, today.

  2. Pingback: “So far, my 5 and six year old kinder-kids have taken these summative evals this year.” — Fred Klonsky | Mister Journalism: "Reading, Sharing, Discussing, Learning"

  3. I don’t mean to be flip here ( I totally agree that these ridiculous tests are absolutely inappropriate), but I think Dunkin’Donuts should contribute to their nearest CPS Public School. From experience and observation, Dunkin’ Donuts made a lot of money on Friday.

Leave a Reply

