We get letters.

Fred,

JFK was your man. He treated woman right!!!! right to bed!!!!

-5628

Dear 5628,

JFK?

Going right after those dead presidents? Huh, Clyde?

I heard Jefferson messed around too.

-Fred

Fred,

OMG!!! We are doomed. Say it ain’t so. Not merit pay!!
You mean like the real world?

-Clyde

Dear Clyde,

Everybody has their own real world, Clyde.

For example, if I lived in Donald Trump’s real world, my daddy would have left me more than some memories when he died.

And the place I worked – my school – would have had KLONSKY in five foot letters across the front of it.

And if I lived in Hillary’s real world I would have gotten a quarter million to speak at a lunch.

Instead, today I had some leftover chicken thighs for lunch.

-Fred

Fred,

What you really advocate for is called “confiscation”.

-Akvida

Dear Akvida,

Yes.

Better to confiscate their mega-profits than my small pension.

-Fred

Fred,

Did you run out of B.S.? This is a new low in data.

-Anon

Dear Anon,

Run out? Every morning I get up and read the paper and there is more and more. I will never run out.

-Fred

 

3 thoughts on “We get letters.

  1. Clyde might be surprised that “merit pay” isn’t all that common in the “real” world either. And where it exists, it’s disastrous, unless employers think a hostile, competitive workplace environment where everyone is out to screw over everyone else more than they’re out to do their jobs is a good thing.

    • Employers have been very successful at making it unprofessional to share salary information. If you get a college education, you might very well get a job where your salary is “negotiated” like buying a car. With my teaching jobs, I was never even told what the salary was until after I had accepted the job. Then they told me how much credit they would give me for experience and education. There was no negotiation. It always struck me as backwards.

  2. Unlike many who teach today, I actually taught under merit pay. It was a terrible practice designed to keep costs low and teachers in line. Merit never even entered into the equation. It was always about intimidation and control.

    I have never known anyone who worked under so called “merit pay” systems who thought it was a good idea or fair to employees. I can tell you our “merit pay” had little to do with “merit” and a lot to do with who the boss approved of or thought “deserved” to be paid more (because they coached or were married males).

    You would think the “meritorious” employees would like it. Not true. I was one of the favored employees. I did not like it. I hated the climate of jealousy and distrust it created. I wouldn’t even wish it on Clyde.

    No person I have ever met who advocates for merit pay ever actually worked under it themselves. I suspect that they would never support it for anyone but teachers. “Merit pay” isn’t really about fair compensation. It is a code phrase for the idea that all teachers should be paid less.

    Clyde should try it himself before he demands it for others.

Leave a Reply

