6 thoughts on “John McCain. The guy who gave us Sarah Palin.

  1. When I look at McCain and some of my veteran friends who have or had (deceased) big issues with PTSD, I see how different they are in relation to the way they were before they went to war. I see the hell that the ugliness of war has put into their spirit. I see the damage that has been done to their families, as well.

    Now as I look at our two major Presidential candidates, the first thing I notice is that they are both chomping at the bit go to war. I realize that all they are going to do by engaging in the foolishness of war is create a whole new generation of wounded souls like McCain and my friends.

    I value my vote. As a result, I will not be voting for any individual who has this willingness to go to war in their minds.

  2. McCain is a sick man. He’s been that way for years. His erratic behavior during the 2008 presidential campaign, including the suspension of his campaign and his acceptance and unwavering support of the gross incompetent, Sarah Palin, were strong indications that this man should have been consigned to “Happy Acres” with a great deal of psychiatric help rather than occupy any high public office, particularly that of the presidency. Only a psychiatrist can determine the extent of the psychological damage that his horrific experience as a POW in North Vietnam caused. When a veteran who has experienced war and torture wants to consign more people to war’s horrors as McCain and Lindsey Graham did a year or two ago, there’s something wrong. McCain’s strong criticism of Trump followed by his endorsement of him spells “irrational.” McCain’s behavior is abnormal. The man is sick.

  3. This saddens & shocks me (although, at this point, nothing should shock me). I liked the way McCain handled his audiences practically calling for Obama’s blood (he’d admonished them–told them how disrespectful they were, & to stop), and, most certainly, admire his service and bravery.
    Insofar as “his” Sarah Palin pick is concerned, I think–much in the way that politics is played these days–his handlers actually did the “picking” (some of this can be seen in the HBO movie, Game Change, &, more so in the book.) I have long wished that HBO–or some such media enterprise–run a limited series based on the book–there was so much more about the 2008 elections–the Edwardses, e.g., the Obamas & all the other players–the book is fascinating–a great read.) But, I digress.
    Karl, I’m thinking that, perhaps, this is some age-related condition.
    Could be in addition to any other trauma he may have suffered as a result of his POW years.
    And, to think, all of the people complaining about Bernie Sanders’ age! He, who is, perhaps, more physically fit, healthier than the (not by much) younger HRC. In fact, on his show last night, Bill Maher urged him to run again, because “you’ll only be 78!” If any of you were lucky enough to see Bernie, live, you wouldn’t believe the energy this guy has–he came to Argo H.S.–fresh off the plane from Midway, was interviewed by ABC7–bounded up the platform at about 8 or 8:30 PM (my age-related “can’t remember”), & spoke–non-stop–for approx. 1 hour, 15 minutes–without one sip of water.
    In his case, at least, 74 is the new 34!

    • Retired, I saw Bernie Sanders at Chicago State. One of the things that amazed me most was exactly what you pointed out……his energy level. He had just arrived from another rally. CSU was an evening event, and it was the peak of the campaign season. I’m sure he had a full day (many of them) during that primary season. He was like the Energizer Bunny. America lost out on a good opportunity.

      I’m still disappointed about the way the DNC sabotaged Sanders. And I’m even more disappointed to hear that Hillary Clinton offered Debbie Wasserman Schultz a job as a personal assistant almost immediately after she resigned.

    • Retired,
      You’re correct about Bernie, who seems to defy age. I’ve been a long-time fan of his and had always hoped that he’d get into the presidential race sooner not because of age, but because the country needed him years ago. I’ve been to Vermont a number of times and I understand perfectly why its people have such affection for him. The Vermonters know that they can always count on Bernie to fight for them. If anyone fits the elevated profile of statesman, not just ordinary “politician,” it’s Bernie Sanders. I agree with Bill Maher that Bernie could run again.

      I don’t have a problem with age and politics. There have been other examples of extraordinary individuals who served their countries well while in their 70’s and 80’s. Churchill, Adenauer, and Golda Mair come to mind.

      A far as John McCain is concerned, my perception is that his problems relate more to mental health for even competence than age. Granted, his campaign staff didn’t serve him well, but the choice of Palin was solely his. Even when it was well known that Palin was an incompetent and a fool, he continued to support and to protect her. To this day, McCain still sings her praises, though she was a prime factor in his defeat. McCain can have highs as in McCain-Feingold and terrible lows like Palin. At the moment, he’s in one of his low periods when he criticizes Trump sharply, but can’t bring himself to withdraw his endorsement. It’s not a question of McCain’s age, it’s his erratic, often bellicose behavior and his frequent inability to make rational judgments. What’s at the root of McCain’s problems? It’s more than his age.

Leave a Reply

