By popular demand: Klonsky brothers on the air and live internet streaming.

hitting-left-1

Due to popular demand, my brother, Mike Klonsky (who blogs at Small Talk) and I will be doing a live radio show, Hitting Left, on Friday, February 3rd at 11AM, CST.

Our in-studio guest will be Troy LaRaviere, President of the Chicago Principals and Administrators Association, former principal at Blaine Elementary and Rahm critic.

We and the good folks at WLPN, 105.5 FM Lumpen Radio, Chicago’s community radio station are trying this out as a pilot broadcast.

If you like it, let them and us know.

2 thoughts on “By popular demand: Klonsky brothers on the air and live internet streaming.

  1. 1-28-17
    A democracy is noisy.
    A citizens “job” is to make noise.
    Keep it up!!

    Attached: Noise

    Save Our Schools SOS
    44 mins ·
    SOS
    1-28-17
    Good public schools benefit all in urban , suburban, and rural United States. From 2000-2008, I lived in Galena, Illinois. I taught in the Galena …
    See More

    Open letter to Galena residents
    An open letter to Galena residents written by school Superintendent Greg Herbst
    TELEGRAPHHERALD.COM|BY TELEGRAPH HERALD

  2. NOTE: COMMENT AT 6:43 AM 1-28-17 FAILED. SO . . .

    SOS
    1-28-17

    Good public schools benefit all in urban , suburban, and rural United States. From 2000-2008, I lived in Galena, Illinois. I taught in the Galena Public schools during that period. The Galena community is well served by its public schools. Like so many public schools, the physical buildings are important. Tax (local, state, and federal) support for publics schools is essential.

    The public school challenges in Galena, are no different than those in any other public school. Take time to read the attached letter. The message applies to all of us.

    Yours in education,
    Dr. Charles W. Birch, public school teacher

    20 January 2017
    RE: An Open Letter to the Citizens of Galena
    Having worked as a teacher, principal, and superintendent in five school districts across three states over the past twenty-nine years, I have learned a few things about myself, one of which is that I am a small-town guy. I like knowing my neighbors. I enjoy dining with friends at local eateries. I embrace the opportunities to do business locally, because even though the price may be a few dollars more, I know I am helping a neighbor rather than filling the pockets of people whom I have never met and will never know.
    In sum, a small town is much more than a place to live; it is a community family. We are neighbors, friends, colleagues, and acquaintances. It does not matter how long you have lived here, because your home—the place you have chosen to plant roots, raise your family, seek employment, toil and prosper—is where you live, here and now.
    My experiences have led me to conclude that small towns are also places where you can easily stay grounded, as their populations are often comprised of people whose backs and minds are as strong as their character. You know who I am referring to . . . those good, decent, salt-of-the-Earth people that make up the foundation of any place worthy of being called home.
    If you will indulge my moment of sentimentality, I am reminded of my parents. I may wear a suit-and-tie to work, but my mom and dad, who worked in a grocery store and meat-packing plant, respectively, instilled into me their blue-collar work ethics . . . not by preaching, but by example. We were not wealthy by any measure, but we were rich in the things that truly matter.
    As I am sure you are aware, the Galena Board of Education voted recently to place a $21.8M referendum on the ballot for the upcoming election. My intended outcome in authoring this letter is not to talk about the referendum, the buildings, or the issues, as the time for that will be forthcoming. My intended outcome here is to talk about us, as a community and as a family.
    As the School Board carried the tremendous weight of the decision of whether or not to go to referendum, I overheard a third- party utterance of, “Just go to referendum. The worst that can happen is that it will fail.” This naïve remark could not be more disconnected from the truth. The reality is this—the worst that can happen is we lose our sense of community, the very fabric that weaves us together.
    In the upcoming months, you will receive information, be invited to presentations, read newspaper ads and articles, and witness both “Vote Yes” and “Vote No” yard signs popping up like flowers in springtime. I understand and respect this process, as it is a bedrock of our democratic form of government.
    What I have never understood, however, is the infiltration of negativity and misinformation into what could and should be a dispassionate exchange of facts. Perhaps that is why I was drawn to being a math teacher, because mathematics is objective, consistent, and logical. It is a world of right-or-wrong, black-or-white, and devoid of the somewhat confusing hues of gray.
    My request of voters is simple—honor your duty to be critical consumers of information and disregard any falsehoods and peripheral noise before making the decision to which you are entitled. Satisfy this premise, and your decision, whatever it may be, must be respected.
    My plea to all active participants in the process is equally as straightforward—hold yourself and others accountable. The manners in which we engage are revealing. Use your voices to address issues rather than attack people. Channel your efforts into appealing to one’s intellect as opposed to playing with one’s emotions. One can easily be resolute without being divisive. In short, be a person of honor and allow your integrity to be on full display.
    For us, as individuals, as a community, and as a family, there is much more to gain or lose than a referendum. The process, and the manner in which it manifests itself, is a reflection of us individually and collectively. With this as our benchmark, there is but one conclusion—the process is more important than the outcome.
    It is a privilege to work in education in any capacity; to have a front row seat to the evolution of children and hopefully, in some way either great or small, have a positive impact on our impressionable youth. It is my privilege to be your Superintendent, and be assured that it is a privilege I take neither lightly nor for granted.
    Most sincerely and respectfully,
    Greg Herbst, Superintendent Galena Unit School District #120

Leave a Reply

