Hitting Left with the Klonsky Brothers #8 with Diane Ravitch and Kevin Coval.

Here’s the podcast: Hitting Left with the Klonsky Brothers #8.

This week brother Mike talks to educational historian Diane Ravitch.

“Is Betsy DeVos someone we can talk to,” asks my brother, somewhat rhetorically.

“She’s an ideologue. If I were to meet with her she wouldn’t listen to a thing I said. Hit the streets and resist,” is Diane’s advice.

I can’t argue with that.

Our conversation with Kevin Coval covers a range of subjects from pedagogy to poetry.

Be sure to catch Kevin’s reading of his poem on the death of Mayor Harold Washington. It is one of my personal favorites and his reading made me a little weepy.

I loved Harold.

Kevin’s newest collection of poems is called A People’s History of Chicago, with a tip of the hat to the great historian Howard Zinn’s  A People’s History of the United States.

This week’s show includes a song by our friend Linda Boyle.

Anne says the show went by fast.

For me too

Leave a Reply

