Hitting Left with the Klonsky Brothers. Episode #23.

HITTING LEFT (1)

The task for my brother and me was to help folks get a clear picture of the coming primary for governor of Illinois.

Let’s see.

There are JB and Kennedy. Biss. Scott Drury. Bob Daiber. Tio Hardiman and Alex Paterakis.

And Chicago Alderman Ameya Pawar.

Hardiman has become one of those perpetual candidates. Alex Paterakis. Sorry. I have no idea.

Daiber is a school superintendent from down state.

Drury is a Democrat except that when you don’t know that and you are talking to him and then he tells you he’s a Democrat and you go, “Really?”

We have asked Daniel Biss to be on our show and he has agreed. We are working on a date.

I like Dan except for the fact that he led the legislative battle to steal public pensions. But he lost that fight and we won and I am a generous winner.

JB and Kennedy are welcome on our show anytime.

Today we had Alderman Pawar.

On policy, he sounds pretty good.

I am concerned that he seems to want to avoid being part of a progressive electoral movement. “I’m my own guy,” he told my brother and me.

He says he wasn’t a Sanders guy. And he wasn’t.

He’s not part of the Aldermanic Progressive Caucus.

He’s definitely his own guy.

The thing is that without a progressive movement tied to a progressive electoral candidate, what do you have – win or lose – when the election is over?

That’s what I’m looking for.

The podcast download is here.

Tell me what you think.

Best. Show. Ever.

 

Leave a Reply

