Chicago’s union auto mechanics threatened by Napleton. Give Ed a call.

8DGWyp1eU0AEoMQS

From the Napleton website:

The Napleton Family operates more than 80 dealerships in four states. Taking pride in helping each community they live and work in, the Napleton Family name has become synonymous with excellence and teamwork. What started as a small family-owned business has blossomed into one of the most forward-thinking dealership groups in the country.

Ed’s business has grown to include 59 franchises – housed in 30 different locations – in five states. He owns domestic, import and high line franchises, and employs more than 2000 people throughout Illinois, Georgia, Florida, Pennsylvania and Missouri. Four of Ed’s five children have proudly joined him in pursuing the family business and have a hand in the company’s day-to-day operations.

Some family.

The thing is, union mechanics are striking over issues concerning time with their families.

Among the unresolved issues are pay for uncompensated time, work rules that interfere with the mechanics’ family time and lack of an industry career path, according to a union statement. The union also wants a guaranteed 40-hour work week, according to Sam Cicinelli, directing business representative for Local 701.

I think I will let the Napleton family know how I feel about their union-busting business by giving them a call: 847 825 1800.

7 Replies to “Chicago’s union auto mechanics threatened by Napleton. Give Ed a call.”

  1. When I first started teaching, I bought a used car from Napleton. It was sometime in the 70’s or early 80’s. I bought it on one of those holidays where some businesses are closed and others remain open. I told the sales person that I liked the car and the price but I would have to wait until the banks open the next day in order to procure the loan. I was asked what bank I used, and the Napleton rep told me that they use the same bank and would provide me with the same rate that the bank would give me. I trusted the gentleman and had them give me the loan. A few months after I bought the car, I noticed some fine print that said I was paying an interest rate that was a slight bit higher than what the bank would have offered me. When I called Napleton to question the difference, I was told that the increase in interest was due to a “small” filing fee (several hundred dollars over the life of the loan) that Napleton charged for processing the paper work attached to the loan. They said this was standard procedure for all customers. I told them that I was promised the same rate that the bank would have offered me. Napleton wouldn’t budge. So I contacted the Illinois Dept of Fraud (not sure if such a department still exists). They reviewed my story and we took the case to court. The judge awarded me the difference and Napleton was ordered to reimburse me for the extra charge. That night I got a call from somebody at Napleton who told me that they were going to issue me the check, but it was under the condition that I tell nobody about today’s court proceedings. I could have gotten ugly at that point, and threatened to take the case back into the court room. Instead, I told them to mail me the check, said thank you, and hung up the phone. That’s my experience with the friendly people over at Napleton.

  2. In my experience getting car repairs done, I have found a great deal of difference between the unionized vs non-union car dealers. I have had several bad experiences at the non union shops because of the lack of proper specialized tools, training, and experience of the mechanics attempting to fix my car. They have made a lot of rookie mistakes that cost me a lot of money.

  3. Just tried calling the number listed in this post, and received an answering service for “Elizabeth hart physical therapy”.
    Will try looking up the number, but you might want to double check your post to make sure people don’t harass unsuspecting third parties…

Leave a Reply

