Take a knee Sunday.

TAKE A KNEE (1)

This week’s drawings.

NEKRITZamazon2SPICERGRAHAM CASSIDYRAHMsob2

This week’s Hitting Left with the Klonsky Brothers with guests Cook County Clerk David Orr and Chicago Votes Stevie Valles.

This week’s blog posts.

Equifax, accountability and the cost of doing business.

Medicare for all? Medicare and more.

7 Replies to “Take a knee Sunday.”

  1. So, what would you do if you lost your pension by taking a knee? No harm to your First Amendment – you’re perfectly free to take a knee. But you do suffer a consequence. Just like you’re free to defame someone – your First Amendment right; absolutely! But there can (constitutionally) be consequences to your exercising your freedoms.

    What would you do, Fred?

    1. I would take a knee. Consequences for exercising Constitutional rights? Proving once again, Akivida, that you are nothing but a big government liberal.

  2. Even though this is a protest of a different form compared to the protests that took place during the Viet Nam War for example, I’m hoping the end result is a good one. Just like the end result of the Viet Nam protests eventually led to the US troops being pulled out. Hopefully the protests from the NFL players will draw attention to the many injustices and forms of political and corporate corruption that still exist heavily in this country.

    As a side note, the release of the Ken Burn’s Viet Nam documentary couldn’t have come out at a more opportune time. As I watch the way our leaders hid the aggression and the truth from the American public during that war, and saw the death and maiming of so many young people on both sides, I realize America is edging closer to this ugly scenario once again as Trump postures for war with North Korea. I hope young people are watching. I know I’m watching. I’m also watching as many of my (now senior) friends who were in Viet Nam (Iraq, and Afghanistan too) now have to fight for assistance that should be thankfully given to them, but is instead dribbled drop by drop to them……if they’re lucky. I hope you all get a chance to see this interesting documentary, Delay, Deny, Hope You Die, somewhere up the road. https://www.rt.com/shows/documentary/399506-american-soldiers-war-afghanistan/

  3. The National Anthem and sporting events have a storied history. Now in my 76th year, as a sports fan of all sports, a public school teacher, former coach, and a citizen, I have seen rude behavior by members of sports teams and those in attendance at sporting events. The rudeness runs the gamut of behavior. Some examples are: fans talking, eating, drinking, not paying attention, men leaving their hats on and general disregard during the singing/playing of the National Anthem and raising the Flag of the United Staes. While recent tradition has had the National Anthem a part of sports, the rudeness has also been a part. It is incumbent that ALL, sports players and attendees, act appropriate and respect everyone else. Dr. Charles W. Birch, public school teacher, Morris, Illinois

  4. September 25, 2017

    “We the people . . .” Time out on the sport’s playing fields and time out on the fields “from sea to shining sea”. Take a “breather” and reflect on the following:
    I am a champion of First Amendment rights. I have and will continue to work for justice for all. Like RFK. when I see “wrong I try to right it, when I see suffering, I try to heal it, when I see war I try to stop it.” I support actions by athletes that attempt to bring about justice. As regards the “arena” of protest by sports team members, I understand their method and message. The following is a recent point of view I hold: The National Anthem and sporting events have a storied history. Now in my 76th year, as a sports fan of all sports, a public school teacher, former coach, and a citizen, I have seen rude behavior by members of sports teams and those in attendance at sporting events. The rudeness runs the gamut of behavior. Some examples are: fans talking, eating, drinking, not paying attention, men leaving their hats on and general disregard during the singing/playing of the National Anthem and raising the Flag of the United States. While recent tradition has had the National Anthem a part of sports, the rudeness has also been a part. It is incumbent that ALL, sports players and attendees, act appropriate and respect everyone else.
    Dr. Charles W. Birch, public school teacher, Morris, Illinois

Leave a Reply

