October 12th. Election Day.

Photo portrait of President Lyndon B. Johnson ...

Early voting in Chicago starts today. Well. Not really. You can do it, but only at three locations in the City.

Tomorrow I can vote at the local library. And I will.

As a young man I rarely voted. In those days, the voting age was 21. Lyndon Johnson taught me that voting for a person because they would do what they promised was a dumb idea. That was in 1964, before I was old enough to actually walk into a voting booth.

By 1968 the uselessness of voting became even more clear to me. The choices for president were Hubert Humphrey and Richard Nixon. I may have been young and crazy. But I wasn’t stupid.

I voted in the streets.

I think the first election I actually voted in was the Chicago mayor’s race between Jane Byrne and Michael Bilandic after the death of Richard Daley the elder. The people of Chicago rose up, almost spontaneously, and ignored the local ward bosses to toss out the Machine. I wasn’t about to be left out of that one. As I expected, Byrne failed to meet our expectations.

But no matter. She got tossed the next time.

Then there was Harold Washington. Not only did I vote with enthusiasm. I knocked on doors. I carried a voter registration sheet. I marked pluses and minuses. We got out our votes on election day. We even carried my precinct for Harold. It’s an achievement I’m most proud of to this day.

For five years as Mayor of Chicago he never disappointed me. He took on the enemies of social justice in the city council with energy and humor. He rallied his troops like a war-time general, only the troops were us. We sat in rally after rally in the hundred-year old Quinn Chapel on the near south side, a station on the underground railroad in the days of slavery, while Harold would laugh and say, “I am not Monty Hall and this is not Let’s Make a Deal!” And the crowd would roar and the old wood church would tremble.

If only a certain self-proclaimed progressive leader from Chicago would speak those words today.

But I will vote tomorrow.

The Democrats are running on the slogan, “Well, we’re not as crazy as they are.” It won’t save them.

But I will vote. I don’t want to see a governor of Illinois who thinks the earth is 10,000 years old and wants that taught in public schools.

I’ll vote for a local Green Party candidate who is running for state legislator.

I’ll vote for Luis Gutierrez because I think he makes a better congressman than he would a mayor.

All the candidates I’m voting for should know:

I’m voting to end the wars.

I’m voting because the largest sector of laid off workers in the last quarter were teachers.

I’m voting against the polices of Arne Duncan, Joel Klein, Michelle Rhee, Ron Huberman, Cory Booker and all those who want to scapegoat public school teachers and public schools.

In spite of the IEA’s recommendation, I’m voting for David Miller for comptroller. I don’t think a guy who championed school funding and HB 174 should be stabbed in the back by our union. Even if I don’t know what a comptroller actually does.

I’m voting for some of the good things done under the Obama administration even if though they’re not nearly enough.

I’m voting against John Boehner.

And the rise in homophobic violence.

I’m voting because the FBI raided the home of my neighbors last week who are peace and union organizers.

I’m voting against the increase in poverty, overall and particularly among African-Americans and other people of color.

I’m voting for a library in Pilsen and a mosque in lower Manhattan.

There’s nobody on the ballot that is saying these things. So I have to say it so you will know.

Oh, Harold. Where is he on an election day when when we need him?

7 thoughts on “October 12th. Election Day.

  1. This isn’t the year to skip voting. Here are some of the reasons why your vote will count:

    The Power of One Vote

    Your Vote Does Count
    Did you know that just one vote….
    • in 1771 Just One Vote … gave America the English language instead of German?
    • In 1845 Just One Vote … brought Texas into the Union
    • in 1868 Just One Vote … saved President Andrew Johnson from impeachment
    • In 1876 Just One Vote … made Rutherford B. Haynes President of the U.S.
    • In 1923 Just One Vote … gave Adolf Hitler leadership of the Nazi Party.
    • In 1941 Just One Vote … saved selective service, just weeks before Pearl Harbor.
    • in 1984 Just One Vote … elected Maurice Nichols mayor of the City of Athens, Alabama.
    • in 1992 Just One Vote … decided a town council seat in Trinity, Alabama.
    • in 1992 Just One Vote … decided the Democratic nomination for the Madison County Commission, District 2
    • in 1996 Just One Vote … could have elected a member of the Limestone County Board of Education, District Number 5. (This election was decided by a toss of a coin)
    • In 2000, one vote in the now famous Bush v. Gore decided the Florida vote count halted and determined the next President of the US would be George W. Bush.
    One Vote Can make the Difference!

  2. GREAT POST, and let me add that as a progressive person yet also a pragmatist, voting for the lesser of evils IS a choice . For people to sit by passively ensures a resounding victory for the truly evil, and the forces out there are more dangerous than usual.

  3. The story about German being proposed as the official language and losing by one vote is popular but false:

    http://www.snopes.com/language/apocryph/german.asp

    The truth is the US has never had an official language. I believe John Adams proposed it and was defeated. Despite that, American English is likely the most successful language in the history of the world. Though not the most widely spoken, it’s probably the most studied second language ever.

    This works well for us ESL teachers.

    1. I’m not sure how you measure the success of a language. If you judge by what’s going on in Washington, I would argue the most successful might be jibberish.

  4. Seriously, American English has become a de facto international language, more successful than French, which it replaced after WWII, or any other. A huge difference between English and French is they have an academy to regulate language, while we steal from anyone and everyone and are hugely flexible. Also, the largest English speaking country in the world has never actually declared a national language yet we’ve flourished like no other. Kinda makes ya think those “English Only” folks haven’t got a clue, which indeed they have not.

    1. Seriously. The role of English as an international language might have more to do with the role of the US as the post WW2 super-power and less to do with some abstract idea of language success. French was more dominant before the War because of their colonial empire. In 20 years, we may all be speaking Chinese.
      The “English Only” folks don’t have a clue. But that is because of the chauvinism that their thinking is based on.

Leave a comment