When Joe was running he promised to repeal the WEP/GPO.

President Joe Biden poses for his official portrait Wednesday, March 3, 2021, in the Library of the White House. (Official White House Photo by Adam Schultz)

When Joe Biden was running fore president his campaign issued a plan for older Americans.

You may not have heard much about it lately, but you can read it here.

Among other promises Joe made was the elimination of the WEP/GPO.

And while he has much on his plate at the moment what with the resurgence of the pandemic and a too bipartisan an infrastructure bill, I just want to remind him what his Plan for Older Americans said about the Windfall Elimination Provision and the Government Pension Offset.

Eliminate penalties for teachers and other public-sector workers. Current rules penalize teachers and other public sector workers who either switch jobs or who have earned retirement benefits from various sources. The Biden Plan would eliminate these penalties by ensuring that teachers not eligible for Social Security will begin receiving benefits sooner – rather than the current ten-year period for many teachers. The Biden Plan will also get rid of the benefit cuts for workers and surviving beneficiaries who happen to be covered by both Social Security and another pension. These workers deserve the benefits they earned. 

That’s a good plan, Joe.

7 thoughts on “When Joe was running he promised to repeal the WEP/GPO.

  1. Let’s hope this becomes a reality. My wife has lost most of her social security earnings due to the WEP/GPO

  2. It would certainly help KY teachers, burdened with the two worst Senators Paul and McConnell, who won’t even mention that WEP/GPO swindles KY public pension members.

  3. Social Security states they over paid me but it was 100% their fault. I did everything and at the correct time. They forgot to with hold money for WEP. Now they want me to pay them back $11,500 on a charge card and pay interest on it until all is paid in full. NOTE: they have admitted 100% fault and I am paying them back money which should be mine and then paying the credit card interest on it too. What kind of stupid idiot thought this up? Now I am NOT receiving any money, not even enough to pay for medicare and prescription insurance. I want the money I earned. I worked hard for 24 years under the Social Security program and 10 years for the state. I was hardly earning enough with both checks, now I am qualified for food stamps and etc. and I’m going to apply for it all. You take my money and now I am in poverty level. Really smart thinking now. But I may come out better under food stamps, housing, electical and etc.

  4. Brenda,

    This does not surprise me. (This reminds me of the time the IRS gave us wrong information and yet they said that we were at fault/accountable ) Have you contacted your local congressional rep and your senators to see if they can intervene on your behalf?

  5. I am retired from the State of Ohio and worked in private industry for 30 years, yet I am penalized for working for the State for 19 years by the WEP law taking money I earned prior to working for the State. I see this bill goes to the House yet they refuse to vote and pass it. I struggle to make ends meet and pay for health care. I would like the SSN I earned, please do something about this law and repeal both the WEP and GPO laws.

Leave a comment