Questions for myself.

What did you think of Obama’s speech last night?

I didn’t watch it.

Does it bother you that some progressives support the war on Libya?

Of course it bothers me. Like Obama, they won’t say the word, “war.”  You don’t have to be a cynic to suggest that Obama’s actions have less to do with protecting civilians and more to do with oil and the need to reassert the United States’ leadership and standing among the big powers. Leadership and standing that Bush destroyed.

Anything else?

I’m unhappy when big powers get militarily involved in a little country’s civil war. And do it selectively. No good can come from it.

I’m sickened by the opportunists on the right, like John McCain, who are cheerleaders for Republican wars and who don’t think Obama has gone far enough. This is a guy who thought Sarah Palin was a good idea.

But liberals who support Democratic Party wars? I guess I’m old enough to remember that they loved Vietnam at first too.

Moving on. Michelle Rhee?

Who would of thought that the “top” in Race to the Top meant the end of the pencil where the eraser sits. There’s two parts to this. Part one is that the reliance on test scores as a measure of success was always a flawed theory. And part two is that Rhee is a cheater and a liar.

Is that news though?

How do you respond to Obama’s latest critique of the testing mania?

I think it’s great. Has he spoken to Arne lately?

You’re planning on retiring in a little more than year from now. How are you feeling about your pension right now?

Not good.

But If I were a teacher who was what they call mid-stream I would be sitting outside the office of my state rep 0r state senator.

Everything I hear is that the General Assembly will go after working teachers’ pensions some time between now and the end of May when the General Assembly ends its session.

May 4th is the IEA Lobby Day in Springfield. I’m on the bus. Are you?

Absolutely!


Leave a comment