My stalker, EAG and Whitney Tilson.

God, I love it when I get to publish a picture of my stalker, Ben Velderman. I keep a jpeg of him on my desktop just for convenience.

Today’s justification is a post on EdWize, a blog of the NY teachers union.

Leo Casey, a UFT VP, posts about how he got blasted by hedge fund manager and billionaire boys club member, Whitney Tilson.

What was Casey’s crime?

He was video taped at a forum suggesting that it was not a good thing that the number of Black and Latino teachers had decreased in NY schools. Casey says in his EdWize post that he did discuss the whitening of the NY teaching force and did so in the context of a larger discussion of diversity and social justice.

Good. Right?

Whitney Tilson:

My child’s teacher could be purple and look like Barney the Dinosaur – if he or she is an effective teacher and can help my son excel, so be it. Why are leftists always so focused on race?

Why indeed? You would think there was an issue of race in America by the way leftists are so focused on it.

Anyway, here’s the EAG connection. Where did Tilson get the info on Casey? From a doctored video tape supplied by the Education Action Group, their goofy guru Kyle Olson (boss of my stalker, Ben Velderman), and Andrew Breitbart of the blog BigGovernment.com.  Breitbart is famous for the doctored video of Civil Right hero Shirley Sherrod. Breitbart also ran a long blog post by EAG’s Kyle Olson claiming I was a terrorist for publishing pictures of Ben Velderman after he filed a FOIA request for my emails.

From Casey’s post:

The moniker Education Action Group will ring a bell for many in the edu-blogophere and education world.  EAG has been part of a coordinated right wing strategy to use requests under Freedom of Information laws to intimidate teachers, professors and unionists by prying into their emails and personnel files. AFT President Randi Weingarten has been the subject of an EAG FOIL into her personnel file with the NYC Department of Education. Fred Klonsky, the president of a NEA Illinois local and a high profile edu-blogger at Fred Klonsky’s blog, was the subject of an EAG FOIL into his emails. Similar uses of FOILs have targeted emails from the Labor Studies programs in various public universities in Michigan and emails from Bill Cronin, a progressive professor of history at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, who was FOILed after he published an article on the organizations behind the attacks on teachers and other public sector workers around the county.

Note to Casey: I’m no longer president of the local. I have been replaced by younger, smarter leadership as I ready for my retirement in a year.

Note to readers: Whitney Tilson is also a major funder of the charter vultures in Democrats for Education Reform.

Can you follow this? So many connections. So little time.

Leave a comment