Madison comes home.

Last March Anne and I would make weekend drives to Madison, Wisconsin to join the protests against Governor Scott Walker’s anti-union agenda.

Thousands of other Chicagoans did the same.

Wednesday, Walker returned the favor and came to Chicago to speak at the Union League Club.

I want to point out that the The Union League has nothing to do with unions. A joint for cigar smoking corporate types.

Walker was met by Occupy Chicago activists who disrupted his speech with reminders that union busting is disgusting.

He reminded us that we needn’t have driven all the way to Madison.

“I found it amusing to be referenced in the same vein as Rahm Emanuel, the mayor, but, really, some of the reforms he’s trying to do here echo the things we try to do in the state of Wisconsin and I give him credit for that despite the fact I’m a Republican and he’s a Democrat,” Walker said.

I’m glad we went to Madison. But the Governor has a point.

Leave a comment