Future teacher has a brilliant idea: Solidarity.

.

I got my undergraduate degree in Art Education.

I received a Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership.

I’m ABD in Curriculum, Instruction and Evaluation. I just couldn’t get it together to write that damn dissertation.

Oh well.

Too late.

But in all those years of higher education I never had a class in teacher unions.

I never had a class in Solidarity.

And yet.

Stephanie Rivera, a 20-year-old junior at Rutgers and with her classmate Jacob Bayes, have a brilliant idea.

From her blog: Teacher Under Construction.

In light of the current action being taken by the Chicago Teachers Union (CTU), a friend and fellow future teacher\student activist (@JacobBayes) had a brilliant idea of putting together a solidarity campaign of students for CTU. Now we are working on doing just that. Here’s a quick description if you are interested in taking part:

We as students believe in standing in solidarity with the Chicago Teachers Union to let them know the strength of the support behind them. We are asking students–no matter where they are in the world–to create a short 3-5 minute video of their message of solidarity, write a letter, or anything that helps portray a message of support–get as creative as you’d like! Please send all items to SRRivera92@gmail.com as soon as possible. Items will be posted on website (currently under construction) on a rolling basis. Thank you!

If you would like to learn more about the what is taking place with the Chicago Teachers Union, please refer to their website and\or do not hesitate to contact me at anytime. And of course, please let me know if you have any other questions, concerns, or ideas in regards to this campaign. Again, thank you!

Solidarity,

Stephanie Rivera

I can’t wait until they’re both in classrooms.

Posted in CTU

2 thoughts on “Future teacher has a brilliant idea: Solidarity.

Leave a comment