Ed Rosenthal says why retirees should vote for him to be a delegate to the IEA RA.

Hi Fred,

Thanks for the chance to share my credentials!

I believe that I should be elected because:

1) I understand that IEA-R should represent IEA’s Retired members. We make up 6% of IEA and yet have only 1 seat on the board, no official seats on IPACE and no one on Executive Committee where many of the decisions are made that affect us. We need to increase our representation.

2) While not wearing an Orange sweater at the mike, I have never been shy about going to the microphone and becoming involved in the discussion. My years of activism as an active and retired member give me an insight into how IEA works.

3) I think IEA needs to find a way to get more of our former leaders involved in IEA-R. I am only in my third year on Retired Council and still attend Region 39 Council to understand the issues that actives have and share the issues we have.

4) I will bring issues that I have heard from Council, from my local chapter, from IRTA and from my Retired teacher breakfast group to the RA as appropriate.

5) I have been active in political action and am a member of IEA’s Pension Defense Committee working to preserve our pensions.

Thanks for the opportunity to post on your blog.

Ed

Posted in IEA

2 thoughts on “Ed Rosenthal says why retirees should vote for him to be a delegate to the IEA RA.

  1. Is IEA’s Pension Defense Commitee really a pension defense committee? What will these candidates do to put the “defense” back into the committee?

Leave a comment