Home from the NEA RA. Listening to the mountains, the veterans and the voices in my head.

photo

Our friend Jean shared the secret of hiking up the two-mile path to Emerald Lake in Rocky Mountain National Park.

And the two miles back down.

We needed to get there early before the crowds. We needed to hike without hearing people’s voices.

We needed to listen to the Park.

We would also hear the voices in our own heads

My head almost exploded with thoughts and ideas.

I had no trouble hearing the Gray Jays that battled each other for a spot on an old tree limb just over my head while I was resting on a bolder 10,000 feet above sea level.

A few days earlier I was sitting in a meeting of 10,000 NEA union members in – what Jean calls the flatlands – Denver.

It was my second year sitting with the retirees at the NEA RA.

I am a two-year retiree, sitting with these veteran teachers who have no trouble remembering back to the days of purposely segregated teacher unions and no collective bargaining rights.

It gave me a sense of perspective.

And it makes me feel that the arc of the moral universe bends towards justice – but too slowly.

Back in the day these veteran teachers challenged racism and exclusion with an uncompromising vision, a demand and a plan.

They get mad when I mention their names in these posts. But they are not shy about sharing what they know.

They do not spare me if they think I get off track. I may not agree with them.

But I keep that to myself.

Just as I would do with any of the great teachers I had and respected as a student.

They are still great teachers, retired or not.

So I act with humility.

Because whether I am a young retiree or not, I know enough when to talk back and when keep it to myself.

Over the next few days I will be talking back.

I will be sharing some of my thoughts about the NEA RA with you.

One thought on “Home from the NEA RA. Listening to the mountains, the veterans and the voices in my head.

  1. Thanks for the reminder of “perspective”, something that can’t be over emphasized in so many things if we want to continue to improve and get along and retain a bit of optimism.

Leave a comment