Irene Jinks: An invocation.

Irene Jinks

Each of our North Lake Shore Retired Teacher Association luncheons begins with an invocation by Irene Jinks, our chapter president.

AN INVOCATION

BY Irene Jinks

May 14th 2015

Why am I thankful? It isn’t Thanksgiving.

I’m thankful today for all of my living.

I got up this morning – my home was intact;

I thought of some others with no home, in fact.

I opened the ‘fridge – there was lots of food there;

I know there are others who have nothing to spare.

I’m thankful that right now my pension’s O.K.

For those who come later, we really can’t say.

I’m thankful we fought and won this first round – 

But those who oppose us still truly abound.

I’m thankful that I am still able to fight;

I can’t carry a sign, but I can call and write.

I’m thankful for all who have stood up as one,

But let’s keep remembering, we are not done;

We’ve got to keep working, sisters and brothers,

And part of our work is to bring in the others

Who are not yet working the way that they should,

Doing all they can for the greater good.

I’m thankful the judges saw things our way

And made, for the many, a much brighter day.

So let’s all be thankful for all that’s gone right,

But never forget, we’re still in this fight!

One thought on “Irene Jinks: An invocation.

  1. Irene is a beautiful, wonderful person who has really done it all (long-time teacher, department chair, administrator, school board member, state president of IRTA, & many, many other leadership roles and service in all facets of life) in order to help other people. She is truly a gem, & wish we had more people like her. Thanks for sharing her infinite wisdom with us, Fred.

Leave a comment