Huffington ed blogger’s message is kool-aid.

Caption: Arianna Huffington talks to the media...
Arianna Huffington

Huffington Post’s millionaire owner, Arianna Huffington, converted to liberalism a few years back and decided to engage in some web competition with Matt Drudge. Good for her.

Her education writers have spanned the agendas from center to left, and she included some real good education critics and writers like the late Gerald Bracey. But lately she has weighted it heavily towards those who like the Obama and Duncan ed policies.

This week she initiated a page entirely devoted to education. It’s the good, the bad and the ugly. Diane Ravitch is there. My blogger pal Jose Vilson is included. So’s my brother. They would be some of the good.

But there’s a lot of real bad opinionators.

Like Mimi Carter.

In a so-called message to education bloggers she goes after one of the best education journalists in the country: Valerie Strauss of the Washington Post. Hardly fair to call Strauss a blogger, by the way.  I’m a blogger. Strauss is a journalist. And though I’m a big fan of citizen journalism, there’s still a difference.

Besides, what Carter doesn’t like about Strauss is that she consistently pokes holes in the bullshit of the Reformer crowd.

She lectures Srauss to stop blaming Obama and focus on the real issues.

Like?

So Ms. Strauss, instead of complaining about the Obama Administration, charter schools, and a business-influenced agenda, can we talk about something that DOES matter? Can we, like teachers, better inform the conversation and start talking about real issues? Like teachers who become leaders and how to support them?

Okay. Thanks.

Meanwhile I think I’ll head to Strauss’ column before I go to Mimi Carter’s.

2 thoughts on “Huffington ed blogger’s message is kool-aid.

  1. Yeah man, like that ‘s one bad opinionator 🙂 We can talk about a lot that matters, so when does she want to start? I commented somewhere that most dedicated teachers are too busy to wait for Superman or any other miracle, because they’re too busy teaching everyday.

    PS- thank you for clearing that up about Arianna- it’s another mystery solved. I could’ve sworn I saw her years back on another show, To The Contrary, where she was much more conservative, so didn’t know how this new Arianna came to be.

  2. I reemed Mimi on Twitter. If I’m gonna disagree with someone, I’ma call them out by name. Yes indeed. Her calling out Strauss is as smart as reading another of her blogs on Huffington Post …

Leave a comment