My Sputnik moment.

I’m pretty sure that “this is our Sputnik moment” is not going to be a phrase that grabs folks.

For a good explanation of the historical context read my brother’s Small Talk post this morning.

From a very personal point of view, our last Sputnik moment wasn’t so great. As I recall, it was followed a few years later by the Edsel moment.

As an Art teacher, Sputnik moments tend not to be good. Artists don’t launch missiles. They don’t do  much for R and D.

“What’s that sound?” Anne yelled at me from her office while I listened to Obama’s speech and let out an audible groan.

“He’s telling people to become teachers to serve America,” I yelled back.

Good luck with that.

I guess if you want to move to Central Falls, Rhode Island they might be hiring. But I don’t imagine that should be considered long-term employment.

Everyone in the House chamber stood up and applauded that line. Of course, they have a job.

And what’s with the South Korea thing? They call their teachers “nation builders?”

No thanks.  Kids calling me Mr. Klonsky is fine.

2 thoughts on “My Sputnik moment.

  1. Aah yes, the Edsel- a fabulous look. 🙂 If he wants people to become teachers in order to serve America, he needs more teacher friendly policies, not punitive ones. I liked seeing some districts refuse Race money.

  2. History moment – Michelle Bachman on the tireless efforts of our forefathers to eradicate slavery, AFTER commenting that they were slave owners. History teachers must unite for higher pay.

Leave a comment