“You’ve failed this Association.”

Jerry Mulvihill’s comment.

Dear Ken,

When you called for Lobby Day to be an annual event, I was there. Every year.

When members walked around the capitol building, I was inside, calling my legislator off the floor to speak to him about quality schools and teacher rights.

When IEA Government Relations called for rank and file members to meet personally with their Legislators to get to” know them on a first named basis”, I did. In fact I met with them over Christmas break, spring break and any other days that I could.

When my own local went on strike and IEA’s communication director advised us to begin building a stronger relationship with our community. We rose to the occasion. We created a newsletter which IEA used as a model for other locals.

Time and again, I and many members of my local have done EXACTLY what you have asked of us. I have been a devoted, active member of this union for nearly 20 years.

But now you label me a “traditionalist”.

You got too far. I can deal with you being the weakest president the IEA has ever seen. But I cannot and will not allow you to label me or any other of our members with dissenting opinions a traditional teacher. You have out done yourself, sir.

I simply cannot and will not allow you to degrade members of this association who simply disagree with your policies any longer.

I know your term as president is soon to expire and I am not sure exactly when that is. I don’t care. I am calling for your immediate resignation. You have utterly failed this association and the merits of the unification it is supposed to represent.

Jerry Mulvihill
Elementary Teacher
Region 36

Posted in IEA

One thought on ““You’ve failed this Association.”

  1. The decision of the hearing officer is non binding if it’s in favor of the teacher? Nothing else in the document matters. It is a joke. We look weak and foolish.

Leave a comment