Sunday links.

Elizabeth Catlett.

My brother Mike is so excited about what angry parents are up to in Florida, he breaks his rule about blog posting on weekends.

Dave Zirin writes in the LA Times about what the bastards have done to my Dodgers and to major league baseball. And it stinks.

The great African-American artist, Elizabeth Catlett, is featured in this morning’s art section of the NY Times. Her work is the centerpiece of a show at the Bronx Museum of Art. If you don’t know her work and her story, you should.

Rachel Maddow reports how a Michigan high school is ground zero for U.S. politics.

The very rich are accusing Obama of waging class warfare. I wish!

Need a ride to Springfield for Lobby Day on May 4th. I’ll get you one. Just contact me. Got to save public service worker pensions. This is some serious shit.

As you go from me you want all that’s left
The  last thread of pride in my heart
‘Til you’ve wrung the last teardrop from my eye
You won’t be satisfied.

So take your cold unloving heart
Your  eyes too blinded to see
You’ve never found the door to this heart of mine
You’ll  get no more of me.

You wrecked my heart like a cruel winter storm
Bending my branches so low
Oh your wayward heart and your tortured soul
Leave no memory worthy to hold.

So I’ll take back my heart from the willow bough
I’ll hang my tears out to dry
I’ll hang my head in sorrow no more
And no more tears will I cry.

Hazel Dickens (June 1, 1935 – April 22, 2011)

Leave a comment