“They wouldn’t be doing this if we weren’t women.”

Most mornings she will come out of her room as I walk by and make a comment on some current news or ask a pointed question.

“Did you hear Tom Hartman on the radio yesterday. I was driving home and he was talking about…”

“I was so angry, I wrote my state senator last night and told him…”

But this morning she shook her head and said, “They only think they can get away with this because we’re women.”

“What?”

“They think they can bust our unions, take our pensions, because we’re women. Teachers are mainly women. That’s really what this is about. They wouldn’t be doing this if we weren’t women.”

True enough, my sister.

6 thoughts on ““They wouldn’t be doing this if we weren’t women.”

  1. Back in the day, we were told that we woman teachers were working for “dress” money.
    Nice.

  2. Well, times have changed! As a full time teacher and mother of two young children, I will be going to Sacramento on Friday, May 13 with my children in tow, to support what is right for education. Together, we have a voice, and are one.

Leave a comment