Monday morning. A Wisconsin teacher story.

Here’s a good story to get your blood flowing and start the week. From Mr. Helper on Daily Kos.

I just got off the phone with my wife. She and another Wisconsin teacher are actively subverting Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker’s plans to demoralize and discourage Wisconsin teachers from doing their jobs.

Like ALL Wisconsin teachers, my wife is making considerably less money this year. For a while, I thought that meant she would be doing less for her students. Similar to teachers across this great country, my wife has always invested heavily in her students, and not just with her time.

My wife just gave me a thrill, and I hope you’re as proud of her as I am. More below the squiggly thing…

My wife teaches special needs students in the great state of Wisconsin. The students she deals with on a daily basis are the students everyone else has given up on. They typically come from very broken homes, or are otherwise challenged with conditions – such as severe autism – that no one would wish upon anyone. In other words, she’s one of the leeches that Scott Walker has attempted to reign in by cutting take-home pay and denying their collective bargaining rights.

Please don’t hold that against her.

This pathetic parasite upon society just told me that she and another special needs teacher actually had the nerve to take a student out for supper tonight – a student who has always had it tough. A student mired in extreme poverty, whose mother died a couple of years ago. A student who didn’t even have warm clothes or a coat to wear to school (in Wisconsin!).

After buying this poor guy the largest meal in his life and allowing him to eat his fill for once, these renegade teachers had the nerve to take him to a store and buy him a sweatshirt and a coat. Nice ones. Full retail. Over $100 total, and after taking him out to supper.

A sadistic school administrator, sensing that she had the upper hand with these uppity teachers this year, actually had the nerve to tell my wife and the other special needs teachers in her district that cuts would be necessary next year, and that she would therefore be “watching.” Great way to fire up the staff… Do you think that administrator was anywhere in sight when these teachers were doing this – one of many good deeds they perform day in and day out?

I’ve always been proud of my wife. I hope you are proud of her, too. She’s not the only teacher in Wisconsin who is giving the middle finger to Scott Walker. Join me in giving him the middle finger, too!

Recall that SOB! Anyone who would crap on people so dedicated to doing good deserves nothing but scorn and rejection.

2 thoughts on “Monday morning. A Wisconsin teacher story.

  1. This made me cry. I am a retired special ed. teacher, & we all went the extra mile & way beyond–the kids would break your heart, & there was always more to be done every day.

    &–about teachers spending money (& what other profession does this? People who work off expense accounts & who have company credit cards?!)–I just read an article whereby CPS is reincorporating recess. Sadly, some schools have no equipment for such activities, soooo….the TEACHERS went out & bought balls & other play equipment!!!! With THEIR OWN MONEY!!

Leave a comment