Pablo Casals is under attack. Parents fighting back.

Pablo Casals elementary school is on the list for turnaround status by CPS boss J.C. Brizard.

After attending the CTU teach-in on school closings last week, 50 parents and teachers showed up at Monday’s ward night at Alderman Roberto Maldonado office.

Then Maldonado canceled ward night without notice.

The parents and teachers picketed the office instead.

A spokesman for Maldonado said he would meet with the group last night. I have received no word yet on the results.

CTUnet:

Teacher Sharon Herod-Purham said, “We do not understand why Pablo Casals is under attack – according to the Chicago Tribune, we are a higher-performing school.”   Teacher Maria Guerrero noted that, “We outscored 6 of the 11 AUSL schools… so it’s not the data … there’s a different agenda that we don’t know about [causing the turnaround].”

Oh, let me say this. Right now I am in a little stick-0ut of the 35th ward in Chicago. Maldonado’s ward is across the street. Before the next election there will be a remap. It is very likely that I will end up in Roberto Maldonado’s 26th ward.

I’m looking forward to it. I love working my precinct. Lots of 26th ward voters read my blog. 

Leave a comment