The insurance companies are happy. And so am I. I guess.

In the summer of 2009, Anne and I drove to Wakarusa, Indiana to support Obama’s plan for health care with a public option.

Great. The Supreme Court decided people without health insurance shouldn’t die.

What a country.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m glad Obamacare got past the crazies like Scalia, Alioto and Thomas on the Supreme Court. Millions of people are better off because of the decision. I don’t treat that lightly.

I’ve read a lot of articles in the last 24 hours that tried to explain the Roberts’ vote. I now know more about the Commerce Clause than I ever thought I would.

I’ve decided that Roberts’ change of heart was a Roger Sterling thing.

Of all the jerk guys on Mad Men, Roger is the biggest pig of them all. But this season he dropped some acid and he mellowed out. A little.

I think Roberts dropped some acid and had a vision.

He saw poor people.

In a couple of days, he’ll crash and realize what he’s done and be really pissed off.

That’s my theory, anyway.

Meanwhile, they  put the final nail in the coffin of single-payer health care in my life time. Which given the power of money in elections as a result of Citizens United (why didn’t Roberts do some acid on that one?) was probably true either way.

A little reported story coming out of the court decision is that the part of Obamacare that guaranteed Medicaid for all poor people in the United States was thrown out. Millions of people in poverty that were going to be covered now won’t be.

Poor people.

Even Obama’s appointed Justice Kagan voted against that one. I don’t think she does acid.

3 thoughts on “The insurance companies are happy. And so am I. I guess.

  1. I know, I know. I was wondering what was so great about that part of the plan where “everyone will no be insured.” Yes–if THEY PAY for it!!! So, now insurance companies are all of a sudden going to get all touchy-feely & go Groupon or something? Charge less/sliding scale fee?

    Call me a skeptic, but I don’t think so.

  2. It’s a step forward, but it’s not the prize yet. It will help a lot of people, I hope, I pray.

    I have always thought the insurance industry was playing Br’er Rabbit here, pushing for all they can get in what has always been a Win Big / Win Bigger gamen for them. They still have their outrageous overhead and their captive market. I suspect they’re all LOTA and LUTS (Laughing Out Their Asses & Laughing Up Their Sleeves) about now.

Leave a comment