Sunday links.

 In the two years since West Virginia’s Massey mine disaster no federal safety laws have passed and no executives were criminally charged.

John Dillon’s vocabulary of the week: Collateral Damage. Who gets hurt by shifting the cost of public employee pensions from the state to local municipalities and districts? You do.

Stocks and Jocks. I don’t imagine I’ll find a friendly and receptive audience on this Chicago radio show. But I’ve been invited to talk about teacher pensions, state revenues and benefit cuts and I just couldn’t say no. So, we’ll see what happens. Around 6AM, tomorrow morning.

Chicago’s shooting epidemic. Are charters a solution or part of the problem?

Anthony Cody asks if school is too hard or too easy?

Mitt Romney retired from Bain Capital retroactively. Man, I wish I had thought of that.

Crime, race and schools. Rahm’s honeymoon declared over.

Romney gave five network television interviews on the subject on Friday. While it was true that a bunch of Securities and Exchange Commission filings submitted into the new millennium described Romney as Bain Capital’s boss, that was a technicality, he told CNN.

Well, actually, he said, “I was the owner of an entity that is filing that information.” Also that there’s a difference between an owner and “a person who’s running an entity.”

It was Romney’s Star Trek moment. They were always talking about entities on Star Trek, and entities were very seldom good news.

By the time Mitt had cleared the interview decks, he was sounding more earthbound and demanding that President Obama apologize for an aide who said that Romney had either lied or committed a felony. I believe I speak for all Americans when I say that it would be nice if presidential campaigns avoided the use of the word “felony” except perhaps when discussing the occasional member of Congress. Gail Collins

Leave a comment