The in box. Who are you?

Mark Stefanik is veteran middle school Language Arts teacher. He is a member of the IEA and the Park Ridge Education Association.

Who Are You?

 I’m no lawyer…BUT…

Why aren’t we pursuing criminal charges for politicians who voted for ‘payment holidays’?  Even that source of toxic emission, Ty Fahner, has admitted that laws were broken.  Why aren’t we giving the boys and girls in Springfield something to think about if they vote for this latest reform abomination?  Forget votes; give them criminal charges for breaking state laws to consider.  Before we get to the Constitutional Showdown, can’t we explore malfeasance and misappropriation of public funds for the failure to fund the pensions with tax budgeted dollars designated for them?

Let’s give them a little skin in the game.

I’m no public relations expert…BUT…

Anyone with a mortgage understands that missing one or two monthly payments can cause a world of problems for a typical middle class homeowner.  The state has missed or underpaid 600 monthly payments to the pensions (600.  It’s not a typo).  Imagine our lives if we could take our mortgage payments and spend them on other stuff -car payments, vacations, restaurants; wouldn’t that be grand?  Figuratively speaking, that’s just what the state did, and, in doing so, it effectively subsidized the unfair and impractical flat tax.  Why isn’t this story making headlines?  Instead, the ‘benefits’ problem dominates all media discussions.

I’m no financial planner…BUT…

I borrowed a calculator from one of the Math teachers in my building and started playing around with what Einstein called the most powerful force in the universe: compound interest.  I played fast and loose with the numbers, and I invite a more precise computation, but, based upon using 8% annual return over the past 25 years, which I understand to be a modest factor, I should be looking at a cash value of my pension shares at somewhere north of $750,000.  By the way, this does not include the state’s nor my district’s contributions which should greatly increase that number.  Here’s the point: a reasonable return on that amount alone would be more than enough to generate my pension into perpetuity, cola included.  We do not have a benefits crisis.  We have an attack on the ideas of fixed benefits and unions.  

I’m no statesman…BUT… 

With the new understanding that corporations are people, what do we call people who extort, abuse, and undermine our system of government?  We call them terrorists.  Loopholes, subsidies, and tax breaks are the result of negotiating with corporate terrorists.  Illinois must stop this.  

I am a teacher…AND…

I’ll be in Springfield in January.

What are you prepared to do?

3 thoughts on “The in box. Who are you?

  1. WELL SAID……………………… I hope this is passed along to all our politicians in Springfield

    Maybe the Daily Herald could publish this article????

    Nice job Mark !!!!!!

  2. I’m no Jacobin… BUT…
    In spite of the fact that I am against the death penalty, legislators should be tried for crimes against humanity.
    “Off with their heads!”
    (This is not entirely a joke. Legislators, especially those who have been in office for many years, have been guilty of major theft which has caused great grief and stress – both of which have negatively influenced health and longevity.)

Leave a comment