I’m wrong. Quinn goes with Vallas as his running mate.

paul-vallas

Paul Vallas as Squeezy’s running mate.

My prediction earlier today that Quinn would pick Representative Linda Chapa LaVia was wrong, continuing my poor record of political prognostication.

Rich Miller at CapitalFax says it is Paul Vallas.

Vallas faced a problematic job future in Bridgeport, Connecticut where he is superintendent of schools. The Connecticut courts are considering whether he is qualified and the board that hired him just got voted out of office.

Many teachers will not find him a welcome addition to the choices next November.

* 10:01 am – Gov. Quinn is calling around telling people that he has picked Paul Vallas as his running mate.

Completely unexpected.

Stay tuned.

*** UPDATE 1 *** * 10:22 am – Vallas has been running school districts around the country for the past several years, facing controversy pretty much everywhere. But he is registered to vote in Palos Heights, where he voted absentee in the 2010 Republican primary, according to his voter file. He took a Democratic ballot in the 2012 primary from the same address.

*** UPDATE 2 *** Click here to read a story from earlier this week which illustrates the controversy this guy has caused. The CTU is not gonna like this choice, to say the least.

10 thoughts on “I’m wrong. Quinn goes with Vallas as his running mate.

  1. I can’t stand Quinn, but with Vallas as his Lite, I will personally tend with utmost solicitousness to Quinn’s every health need – I will let nothing happen to that man.

  2. How about that Vallas voted as a republican which he really is as a “Tea Partier.” This is your states chance to throw some “Bums Out.” Take the opportunity and do it. They do not come everyday this is just more of their arrogance that they can shove it to us. Give them the LESSON.

  3. I would have stayed Democrat if Chapa LaVia had been named Quinn’s running mate. At this point, I agree with venial sin…give me a third party. If IEA endorses this duo, I’m seriously considering discontinuing my membership.

  4. Sent from my iPhone

    Begin forwarded message:

    > From: elizabeth Rolander > Date: April 6, 2014 at 3:53:42 PM PDT > To: marge , Anderson McGregor , “loriraffanti@yahoo.com” , Heidi Bernover , Buzz , Scott Bernover > Subject: Fw: Fwd: Rahm cuts public pensions, diverts funds to benefit campaign donors > Reply-To: elizabeth Rolander > >

Leave a comment