Running for Retired NEA Representative Assembly delegate ain’t beanbag. And I’ll post this again.

Reg Weaver“Politics ain’t beanbag,”  Chicago Mayor Harold Washington used to say.

And it’s should not be a spectator sport.

On the list of political activities being a candidate for NEA RA retired delegate is pretty far down on the list.

But, since I am a critic of the current leadership, they don’t make it easy.

Unlike local elections, to get elected as a Retired Delegate I have to run state-wide. A lot of teachers, both active and retired, read this blog and know me from my pension advocacy. But a lot more don’t. IEA Retired members live from the Wisconsin border all the way down to the most southern part of the state.

And NEA and IEA rules will not allow me access to those members. I can’t send out a mailing at my own expense or have access to emails. It is forbidden by NEA rules.

I have asked to be invited to local Retired chapter meetings or have my views shared by local retired chapter leaders with their members, but my requests have for the most part been ignored.

I’m not complaining. I understand reality. Politics ain’t beanbag. Even for something so low on the ladder’s rung as convention delegate.

But if you are an IEA Retired member or know somebody who is and support my views and advocacy, here is what you can do to help:

1. Pay attention to the timeline. Ballots will be mailed March 19th. They must be mailed back and received by April 23rd.  If you have not received your ballot by April 4, a replacement ballot may be requested by completing and returning the form found at: www.ieanea.org/about/elections.

2. If you have moved out of state and are a member, you should still receive a ballot.

3. Just being retired, or a member of another retired teacher organization, does not entitle you to vote for an IEA Retired delegate. You must join IEA Retired. Join IEA Retired. Although it is too late to join and be able to vote in this election.

4. Copy this and email it to your fellow IEA Retired members.

5. Post it on Facebook and other social media. And on your blog. Several times.

I’m number 19 on the ballot.

8 thoughts on “Running for Retired NEA Representative Assembly delegate ain’t beanbag. And I’ll post this again.

    1. I’m not entirely clear from your question what your situation is. If you have joined IEA Retired, have a Retired membership card with an ID number, I would guess you are an IEA Retired member and should receive a ballot. But I suggest contacting IEA Retired to check. I don’t think you can vote twice; for delegates from your local and from IEA Retired. Contact Kim.Riley@ieanea.org

      1. Thanks Fred. I am one of those odd birds who pre-paid for a lifetime membership in IEA Retired prior to actual retirement. I am currently still employed as a teacher.
        I, too, suspect I cannot vote retired, but I will contact Kim to find out if it is possible. In any event, I will encourage all my truly retired friends to vote for you.
        Carol

Leave a comment