Teaching our students and keeping them safe.

We are not afraid

Read the words of Special Ed teacher Sarah Chambers, who stood on the steps of Saucedo Academy yesterday afternoon.

“We are not afraid.”

Parents place their children in the care of teachers.

They expect us to do what is best, to teach them and keep them safe and return their children to them safe.

Yesterday morning 100% of the teachers at Saucedo chose to boycott the ISAT test.

They voted to teach them instead.

And to keep them safe.

Trust me. For 100% of teachers to agree on anything is a miracle. Have you been to a faculty or department meeting?

What is most remarkable is that their union took no time in making it clear that the teachers had the union’s full support.

“I don’t want to cause any trouble,” teachers would frequently say to me as we discussed a contract violation back in the day when I was the union prez.

“I’ll be glad to file a grievance on your behalf,” I would say.

“Yes, but I don’t want to cause trouble.”

“We don’t cause trouble. We make trouble,” I would say with an assuring laugh.

Getting over the fear.

It is the hardest thing.

Barbara Byrd-Bennett has pushed teachers so far that they have no fear.

Her threatening letters have done little to stop teachers and parents at Saucedo – and other schools – from wanting to do what parents expect from us.

Teach their kids and keep them safe.

One thought on “Teaching our students and keeping them safe.

  1. One person’s trouble is another’s crusade. Most of the troubles in today’s schools don’t seemto be happening in Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood. I read an article lately that companies are starting to produce safety products for schools like bullet-proof blackboards and kevlar backpacks for kids. Only in America!

Leave a comment