The candidate’s mom called so you have to show up.

Mom

 

My mom.

The voice mail message on my cell had a 919 area code.

That’s North Carolina.

I don’t know anybody in North Carolina.

Not anybody that would be calling me on a Sunday afternoon anyway.

But it was Will Guzzardi’s mom.

No really.

She was reminding me that I had volunteered to do poll watching on Tuesday and that meant showing up at 5AM to get my final marching orders and precinct assignment.

I didn’t need the reminder, but it was good to receive it if only to assure me that the campaign has their stuff together.

She has a sweet voice.

Will Guzzardi’s mom, I mean.

I have done a lot of elections, but I have never been contacted by the candidate’s mom before.

My first election was with my mom.

Door to door for Adlai Stevenson in 1952.

I was four.

I wasn’t solid for Stevenson, but like with Will Guzzardi, when mom calls you got to show up.

One thought on “The candidate’s mom called so you have to show up.

  1. Absolutely true that YOU have to answer when a mom calls, AND what a fabulous mom at that!! Go Guzzardi !!!

Leave a comment