Chicago progressive election score card.

images-1

Alderman Toni Foulkes.

The sun has not come up and there looks to be a lot of Lake effect snow on the ground.

The thing about Lake effect snow is that it still must be shoveled and scraped off the car.

The car I am driving this morning will take me to Springfield to attend a legislative committee of the Illinois Retired Teachers Association.

To the anonymous person who writes me every time I mention that I am going out-of-town so they can criticize what they think is my anti-police bias (“When they break into your house, don’t expect a cop to help you.”), relax. We have a big dog named Killer. Other members of my family are here, including cousin Rocko.  Also, the funny thing about the police is that I have many friends of among them, especially because of our common belief in the promise of public service employee pensions.

This is all just to say that posting will be light today.

Before grabbing my second cup for the road, I want to highlight one result of our efforts to change the political landscape of Chicago and not settle for choosing among lesser evils.

Aside from the historic failure of Mayor Rahm to win outright on Tuesday, there were big wins and successes in aldermanic races even in the face of Rahm and Democrats for Education Reform bankrolling Chicago Forward’s two million dollar efforts to stop us.

Five members of the seven-member Progressive Caucus won. Period. No run off.

Toni Foulkes and John Arena are in run offs. But these were always expected to be tough and we will win them in six weeks.

We picked up two more. My ward elected Carlos Rosa. And the 17th ward’s David Moore.

We will also pick up Tim Meegan, Sue Sadlowski Garza, Tara Stamps and Rafael Yanez in April.

And who knows? As the political landscape changes, some incumbent alderman may become born again progressives.

Stuff happens.

 

5 thoughts on “Chicago progressive election score card.

  1. I hope you consider me one of theose friends Fred. Not sure if I have changed any of your thoughts on cops over the past couple years, but you have made a couple points that caused me to reflect some. cops and teachers have a few things in common. Most cops get into law enforcement for the same reasons teachers get into education, to help peoplle. AND over time, too many cops and teachers forget that and develope a sense of entitlement that is not benefical to them or those they serve. I appriciate almost everything do, if there is ever anything I can to help you with your efforts let me know.

    1. I do consider you one of those friends, Dan. The role of police and teachers in our society is a complicated one. Let’s keep talking about it.

  2. Sorry Chuy, and I mean no disrespect, but you were sloppy seconds to the real peoples candidate, I wonder if Karen would have beaten Rahm outright ?Here is a re post of something I wrote on day two of the beginning of the end of rahm’s term the great CTU
    revolt of 2012.
    “Today the teachers of Chicago are on strike and some would have the public believe it is about greed. I hope they keep the horrendous editorials and teacher bashing spin in the limelight .This is a fight for the soul of a city, and by proxy a nation. Thousands of our brightest are out marching to save schools from destruction and our democracy from the ash heap of history. If this land is to stay free our educational system must remain the road map for opportunity. No other nation in the world gives everyone a chance except us.
    We had to do this for our city, our nation, ourselves, and especially for our students. Perhaps we might get a footnote in history let it start right now, right here.”

Leave a comment