What the hell are you doing reading this?

On the Friday after Thanksgiving, what the hell are you doing reading this blog? And why am I posting?

You should be with your family. Or reading a book. Or watching an old movie on AMC or TMC.

I’m going to drop the car off at George’s garage. The traction light on my Mini stays on and since George is actually working today, he’ll take a look at it an noon. I love George.

Then maybe we’ll take in a movie  (the girls want to see Burlesque) and figure out whether we are eating leftovers or going out for dinner.

Yesterday was really good. First time for jello shots at a Thanksgiving dinner. Awful. The pies were great thanks to Jim, Sarah and Candy. Actually, everything was good. Anne made the best gravy ever and we tried a new trick of pouring pan juices over the sliced breast meat before serving. This kept the white meat moist when it usually gets pretty dry.

Mike and Jennifer brought over their guitars. I had my uke. We did a little hootenanny after dinner. Or a kanikapila, as they say in Hawai’i. We did the Pearl Jam cover of Last Kiss and the Stones’ Ruby Tuesday. This was not your father’s hoot.

You can tell, I have absolutely nothing to say about anything of significance this morning. I’m just trying to be disciplined about daily postings since I took yesterday off for the holiday.

And although I doubt anyone is reading this today, I’ll just wish you all a happy day after our favorite holiday of the year.

Leave a comment