Monday questions for myself.

Question: Egypt?

Answer : Why can’t I watch Al Jazeera on my satellite system?

I know. That’s answering a question with a question.

Reports are that millions of new viewers have found it on the internet. It seems that there is more interest in watching Al Jazeera right now than in watching many of the 150 channels that Dish provides. I want my AJE!

Question: Packers?

Buying four squares in the pool kept my interest at the start. I won the first quarter.

A good finish kept my interest at the end.

And a team owned at least in theory by the fans instead of some wealthy family like the Chicago Bears’ McCaskeys seems somewhat satisfying. And did I mention that I won the first quarter.

Question: The Chicago mayor’s race?

There is very little excuse for the pass that the Chicago media is giving to Rahm Emanuel and Gery Chico and their ties to the sleaze of Chicago’s pay-to-play system. This is the same media bunch that let Blagojevich off the hook until he was finally indicted, even though they knew all along how dirty he was.

Then they’ll turn around and blame the voters for being stupid.

On the other hand, any cop, fireman, teacher or other pubic employee who gives either of them a vote deserves some ridicule. It’s not like Rahm has kept secret his disdain for us. It’s on TV in every other ad.

Recent polls show a tightening race. It appears more likely that there will be a run-off. Rahm is looking like he can’t  make the 50% plus one mark. Carol Mosely Braun is fading and Gery Chico looks to have peaked at around 20%. Miguel Del Valle’s ground operation, the Chicago progressive electoral grass-roots movement is the X factor. It doesn’t show in the polls.

Here’s what: Nobody knows.

 

Leave a comment