Saturday coffee.

As my Spring Break winds down to this last weekend, the temperature might hit 50. All week it has been cold, windy with even a little rain. All that was missing was snow.

I’m being punished for not leaving town.

The Cub’s opening day was yesterday. But Wrigley won’t see this blogger until late May when the Dodgers come to town. Baseball is a summer game. You shouldn’t have to wear a parka. The only ones who should be wearing gloves are the guys on the field.

In Chicago, honor Martin Luther King on the anniversary of his death next Saturday.

This week there are events all across the nation honoring Dr. King on the anniversary of his murder in Memphis in 1968. We remember that Dr. King was killed in Memphis while he was working with public employees, garbage workers, who were organizing for their union rights.

The April 9th rally is being organized by Chicago civil rights and labor groups, including the Chicago Federation of Labor. There will be a rally a 1PM at Daley Plaza with feeder marches from the Thompson Illinois Center and the Hyatt Regency Hotel starting at noon.

I’ll be marching from the Hyatt. I’ll be wearing my “Don’t mess with my TRS” t-shirt. Join me.

I’ll also be marching in Springfield on May 4th.

This will be just one of many mentions of Lobby Day on May 4th. My Region of the IEA will have busses going down to Springfield to meet with our legislators.

I’ll have a number of items on my card: Collective bargaining, tenure, seniority. And my TRS pension.

I’ll be wearing that “Don’t mess with my TRS” t-shirt again. Unfortunately, I’m getting a lot of use out of it.

If you interested in joining us on the bus, send me an email at fklonsky@mac.com

 

 

 

One thought on “Saturday coffee.

Leave a comment