A fight within the family?

I waited in a security line for almost three hours to get into the RA this morning.

To hear VP Joe Biden.

I know. Crazy.

But not so crazy.

President Dennis Van Roekel’s speech yesterday and Joe Biden’s speech today provided an interesting contrast.

Biden was actually more self-critical of the Obama education policies than DVR was.

Dennis never said a critical word of Arnie Duncan, the target of almost all delegate contempt here, or anything else related to the Dems.

Biden acknowledged teacher unhappiness and admitted differences “within the family.” He even admitted we had been right and the administration had been wrong “on some issues.”

Clearly the Obama administration is worried about what is going on in NEA ranks and the ill-conceived early no strings endorsement vote tomorrow.

I’m impressed by the vocal minority but sizable number of delegates who are trying to find a reason to support Obama, but can’t.

It will pain many of them to say no to the guy they worked so hard to elect just three years ago.

But they will.

5 thoughts on “A fight within the family?

  1. I’m from NorCal, and I gave money and even knocked on doors in Reno, NV for Obama. This time around I will vote for him only because the other choices are worse. However, I will NOT donate a single dime to him or the Dems. I’m sick of these back stabbing mealy mouthed Republican-lites. Even Jerry Brown just screwed over Latinos in CA with his veto of the farmworker bill. To hell with these liars. As Oscar Wilde said, my friends stab me in the *front.* Dems are not the friends they should be.

  2. I really hope you guys decline to endorse these duplicitous, anti-teacher, anti-labor bums who got in, sold the White House to DFER, and betrayed us. I was fairly horrified by McCain’s educational policies and even more horrified when Obama got in and started doing everything I thought McCain would, when he grabbed GW’s educational policies like a gold ring and went with them.

    They need to know that our support is contingent on not following insane baseless policies that hurt students, teachers, and working people. Please keep us posted!

Leave a comment