Randy Fritz. “Pension reform.” He who names it owns it.

Randy Fritz is a retired teacher.

He who names it owns it.  It is true about many things, but particularly of what has become known as “pension reform.”

Full disclosure:  I am a retired teacher receiving a TRS (Teachers’ Retirement System) pension.  I’d like to think my opinions, here, would not change if that weren’t so, but in honesty I cannot be sure.  What is being proposed is not “pension reform.”  In fact it is, more accurately, “pension theft.”  Let me explain why.  (What I say here is about my particular pension but is true of all Illinois public pensions.)The money in the TRS is my money.  A part of the agreement I made when I became a teacher in Illinois was that a portion of my salary would be set aside and put into a state-controlled pension fund, and that amount would be matched.  When I retired, I was told I would receive pension dollars for the rest of my life, based on my salary and years of service, as well as reasonable health insurance.  Therefore, unsurprisingly, I did not save large amounts of dollars elsewhere, believing the pension would be there for me (as guaranteed by the 1970 Illinois Constitution).  If that pension system had not been available, I would have made different retirement plans.

“What?” you say.  I’ll take out more than I put in.  True, if I live long enough—the average teacher does.  True just as it is for Social Security:  the next generation, through pay deductions, funds the pension of current retirees.  When they retire, in turn, they will expect and receive the same.  The number of teachers is not expected to decline in the future; the fund is self-perpetuating.  (Remember:  the Social Security trust fund is “in trouble” [not really] in twenty or thirty years—not now—only because the wealthy pay into the system on just the first $106,000 or so of their earnings, no more.  Those who can most afford to pay into it, in other words, pay almost nothing compared to normal working Joes.  If they did, the fund would be solvent forever.)

“What?” you also say.  I get cost-of-living increases (COLAs), which are unfair?  Also true (that I get them, not that they’re unfair).  These pensions hardly equip one for luxurious living.  A friend of mine recently commented that his pension, self-funded as a lawyer, would never provide a COLA.  I suggested, then, that we trade pensions.  Guess what his answer was?  He made long-term plans for his retirement.  But I did too—through TRS.  With no COLAs those teacher pensions, in time, would be worth less and, little-by-little, impoverish those depending on them.  Increases were never slated to be more than the actual increase in the cost of living (and were part of the deal).  And remember:  we take a huge hit on Social Security, if we even qualify for it (I do)—something like a 40 to 60% cut.

The only reason the pension funds in Illinois are in trouble is because the state of Illinois has consistently and intentionally underfunded their promised share.  It was easy for legislators to do so:  there was enough money in the fund for now; “we’ll worry about what is needed later.  We’ll use available appropriation for what we need to spend money for now.”

Then, a few years ago, the Great Recession made proper funding impossible.  The funds are falling behind payments due now, but only because of the that earlier underfunding.  (Politicians are, in general, chickens.  It was easier to “underfund” in lean years, as I said, than raise taxes.)  We (current & future pensioners) didn’t squawk nearly enough back then—we should have.

The excoriation of teachers has been, seemingly, well-planned to coincide with this financial crisis.  “Why should we pay those lazy, overpaid, unionized, long-vacationed, don’t-care-about-kids idiots?” goes the argument.  Well done:  your demonization has won the day.

It’s not true, though.  Most teachers I know (including myself, I hope) do their best to do a good job with decreasing resources and progressively larger classes.  There is dead wood, of course, as in any other profession, but it’s hardly the norm.  I firmly believe the current bad attitudes toward teachers is part of a concerted effort to de-legitimize public education.  There is lots of money in public education and the moneyed interests would just love to get their hands on some of it.

The bond rating agencies that have downgraded Illinois securities, Moody’s and Standard & Poors, are the same firms that continued to rate the “toxic waste” (a Wall Street term) as Aaa right before those synthetic derivatives poleaxed the markets in 2008 (for those who know, I’m talking about CDOs and credit-default swaps).  These are the same agencies, by the way, that rated US government securities, for a time, lower than that toxic waste.  That Illinois suffers from bad bond ratings from these fools (who continued to rate the “toxic waste” highly to acquire other business from investment bankers) serves only to show how rigged the securities game is.

So, we are in the midst of “pension reform.”  It is something our politicians tell us we must do.  “Defined Benefit pensions” (another term of artifice) are just too expensive.”

Liars.

Hey General Assembly:  your job was/is to return my money to me—you took it in the first place and promised to return it, under specific circumstances, in the form of a pension.  You promised to match my contributions.  In fact, you have a fiduciary responsibility to do so.  That’s not just what you promised, it’s what the 1970 Illinois Constitution promises.  Now you’re reneging on all that, or planning to.  Now, in other words, you’re not going to pay it back per the terms I understood as I was paying in.  And, somehow, all that has become my fault.

I’d laugh at the whole thing if it wasn’t so sad.

4 thoughts on “Randy Fritz. “Pension reform.” He who names it owns it.

  1. When are the rich and powerful going to pay their share. We know it is a revenue problem. 2/3 of corporation essentially pay no income tax. Cut the loopholes, perks, and deductions for megacorps and start a progressive tax system.

  2. Randy, thank you so much for your well-reasoned comments. My thoughts, exactly, with one caveat–in terms of retirement savings outside of our pensions–even if we all did outside investing & set up 401ks, pretty much everyone was hit by the Wall Street fiasco
    (but I suppose that was also our fault?!). In addition to that, I would urge those of you who have not yet seen the Frontline (PBS) doc “The Retirement Gamble” to do so–you can probably find it online or get the DVD from your local library. Also–for some reason!–they have been showing it sporadically, & more often than other Frontlines (check the WTTW listings for their 369 & 370 stations {Comcast}, & PBS Channels 20 & 21, as well as 11). “T.R.G.” tells the story of con-artist investors, hidden fees and other such schemes to take your money while raking in big $$$ for the investment banks, et.al. And–here’s the kicker–some of this is legal! That having been said, watch it for yourself.

    To John–so true but, of course, we’ve been told time & again by the legislators that, in order to pass a progressive tax, we must FIRST solve the “pension problem!” (Heard many times from Sen. Biss.) I keep asking “And why is that?” but. of course, receive no good answer. The answer is, of course, they’d rather take away our hard-earned money than tax their rich friends, the corporate world (oh–boo-hoo, Caterpillar–after making record profits you refuse to settle contracts w/ your employees AND you lay off workers…& don’t get me started on Sears–BIG tax break, then PDQ closed stores {in Indiana}, but now are {of course!} “talking” about store closures here). Excuse me for asking, but what did you say the salaries of your CEOs & top execs are?

    As someone recently wrote on a multi-recipient e-mailing, just how many private jets do corporations need? How many homes do these CEOs need to own? It’s never enough for these people, but OUR pensions are the reason that mental health clinics have to be closed and services have to be cut.

    I don’t think so, & neither do you all so, tomorrow, get out there and tell them. Tell them we DON’T get free insurance, and that money comes from our pension payments. And, because some of us just KNEW that there was going to be this ugly mess with TRIP/CMS, we kept our insurance from our school districts when we were allowed to do so, and I, for one, pay 1/3rd of my pension check. (When you’re out tomorrow, make sure you tell EVERYONE you meet that we pay for our insurance–you’d be surprised how many people think we get it for free, & people are very empathetic when we explain.)

  3. This is the absolute truth and I want to thank you for expressing my thoughts so exactly. I wonder if there is any justice in this state. Will they just vote our pension contract away. If they do then what value does any contract have? What is the importance of our constitution if we do not live by it?

  4. Great job Randy! Why can’t people understand this and why can’t they understand that legislators exempt themselves from all this? Legislators have agreed not to affect judges too because they know this is wrong. I can’t believe people do not see this!

Leave a comment