Antonucci’s facts are not so factual.

Mike Antonucci publishes a blog called Intercepts. It’s conceit is that he is a spy in the house of teacher unions. His favorite target is the NEA.

Although he is an anti-teacher union ideologue and zealot, he does have a reputation for getting his facts right.

But not always.

Not in a recent post on the top 20 education blogs on Technorati.

First he says that he doesn’t really understand how the Technorati rankings work, even though there’s a pretty simple explanation on the Technorati site. It explains how the rankings, which top off at 1000, are a ranking of influence, not just hits or links.

He admits that although Technorati has categories of blog lists, education is not one of them

Antonucci then explains how he carefully went through the Technorati lists and extracted his top twenty  ranked ed blogs.

What bull shit.

It’s really just Antonucci’s list of his favorite right-wing and home schooling blogs. Which is fine, if he was honest about it.

And I’m not just saying that because my ranking would have put me in his list of top 20, which he conveniently ignored.

3 thoughts on “Antonucci’s facts are not so factual.

  1. Dear Fred:

    As I know you read my work very carefully, surely you noticed I said the rankings were for May 16 and that Technorati updates its authority rankings every day. Evidently you spiked 27 points today, accounting for your score of 507. See for yourself (but check before the end of the day, or it may change again).

    http://technorati.com/blogs/top100/page-168/

    Congratulations. I went up one point myself. If you had appeared in the Top 20 on the 16th, you would have made my list. I didn’t choose based on any other criteria but a focus on education and the authority number.

    Have a great day.

    Sincerely,

    Mike

    1. If I can spike 27 points in one day, then by tomorrow I could theoretically have an authority ranking higher than yours and as much as Jacobs by Friday or sooner. This, of course, makes any conclusions drawn from this list of 20 pointless.

  2. Interesting that neither of our numbers have moved all week. But that mine suddenly spiked THE DAY AFTER you made your list.

Leave a comment