Dressing for the revolution.

Screen-Shot-2018-12-16-at-11.05.38-AM.png
From the NY Times Style section. Chuck Schumer and Nancy Pelosi in her power coat.

Sunday mornings have their routines.

I’m usually the first one up so I make the coffee. If the dog gets up off the couch, I’ll let him out and put down some fresh kibble and water. A longer walk comes later.

When Anne comes down I will start the water for the poached eggs and throw four chicken sausages in a pan. Anne prefers her eggs with a half toasted whole wheat muffin. I like mine on toaster Ancient Grains waffles.

Hot coffee and eggs in front of me, I sit down and read the paper in a kind of compulsive order. First the front section with actual news as selected by the NY Times editors.

Then the Style section.

I like the Style section.

In some ways, it is way more usefully informative than the first news section.

If you know me – or see me – you know I don’t have much interest in what is considered fashionable.

I do think I have my own senior sensibility when it comes to my clothing choices.

As for the Times Style section, the wedding announcements are full of sociological data about what is going on among the upper classes.

Over the years the Times editors have included same-sex weddings announcements, inter-racial marriages and specifics about whether the bride will keep their last names.

This week I learned that Nancy Pelosi wore a red power coat to the now famous face-to-face with Schumer and Trump.

“MaxMara,” Anne told me before I even shared the story with her.

By the way, I once ran into Chuck Schumer in a Park Slope dry cleaners on 7th Avenue when visiting family in Brooklyn.

He was talking to the dry cleaner guy about whether he could get a massive ink stain out of a blue striped dress shirt. It didn’t seem like the appropriate moment to approach him about some of my political concerns. I was probably wrong and I should have seized the moment.

Carpe diem.

But the thing that caught my eye this Sunday morning was the Style section front page. It seemed more appropriate for the business section.

“Are you ready for the financial crisis of 2019?” it asked.

I had already read the article when it ran Monday online. But wasn’t aware it would be in the print edition’s Style section in Sunday’s paper.

The five things it suggested I needed to prepare for in 2019 were: Student debt, China, the end of easy money, Italexit and the “Antibillionaire Uprising Across America.”

Antibillionare uprising? Yes! I am dressed and ready.

And ready for my second cup of coffee.

6 thoughts on “Dressing for the revolution.

  1. Me too! But…what took so long? Anyway, I love the N.Y.T. Style Section, too. It’s fun to read the wedding notes, how they met, etc. Although the Times has become more open to every kind of wedding, it’s noticeable that people who post generally have some kind of pedigree/elitist background*–definitely top-notch schools & great jobs (“James Prince V, attended Yale & received…summa cum laude…is a Harvard Law graduate who is employed by the firm We Beat Um, You Cheatem {a bad play on the 3 Stooges’ subliminal name [neither my husband nor I could remember; some reader out there know?]}. His father, James Prince IV is a retired Chief Cardiologist… etc., ad nauseum.) I would love to read just ONE notice that said something like “Joe Shmoe & Jane Doe, recipients of GEDs, from Nowhere-You-Would-Even-Recognize, eloped at the Elvis Eden Chapel in Las Vegas on November 17th.” Period.
    Anyhow, we’re lucky to get the NYT & the Sunday NYT whenever we go to New Orleans–for free.
    One of the very posh hotels (we DON’T stay in) apparently caters to guests who don’t read the NYT, &
    lucky for us–there are always at least 20 sitting by the Concierge’s desk as late as 5 PM. Therefore, I don’t feel at all guilty for taking just one (aside from that, my niece was married at their Chicago counterpart, co$ting big $$$, so I feel no shame). If you don’t subscribe, the Sunday paper is SIX FIFTY!!
    & the cost of the daily paper isn’t too much better…
    I guess if people in NY can’t afford that, they’re reading The NY Post or The Daily News (if that’s what the other is called–can’t recall). Although I’d bet those might still be too dear for those trying to put food on the table.

  2. Why on earth do you feel the need to tell us blow by blow what you like to eat for breakfast? Are you really that narcissistic to think anyone really cares? Get over yourself!

    1. It’s a personal blog. The problem isn’t that I write it. The real question is why do you keep reading it? For years now.

      That is some weird shit.

  3. Print delivery is not available downstate. But it is all over on Sunday . It sells better downstate than the Tribune so I don’t know why weekday is so limited.btw I have a friend who got his wedding in .Some of my activist work was in a news article there and the Christian Science Monitor which went online only.

Leave a comment